BIBLIOTOPIA literary week-end around the world | Sunday, 6th May Programme

Sunday, 6th May, 11am to 8.30pm

PROGRAMME 

11am György Dragomán and Gazmend Kapllani in conversation

Borders, Visible and Invisible

Moderation: Ed Girardet

In English, simultaneous interpretation into French

12pm Reading

→ Auditorium

12.15-12.45pm Signing

→ Pop-up Bookshop Elemental Hut


11am-12.30pm Workshop for children

Your children are welcome to attend workshops, where they will be supervised, while you attend BIBLIOTOPIA’s morning events.

In collaboration with sept.info, swiss website of slow journalism.

From 7 to 10 years up, unaccompanied children
Offered with the Bibliotopia Day Pass by reservation at: mediation@fondation-janmichalski.ch


2pm Katja Petrowskaja and Vladimir Vertlib in conversation

Memory and Exile

Moderation: Barbara Fontaine

In German, simultaneous interpretation into French

3pm Reading

→ Auditorium

3.15-3.45pm Signing

→ Pop-up Bookshop Elemental Hut


4pm Interview with Xiaolu Guo

Reconstructing Identities in Film and Fiction

Moderation: Ed Girardet

In English, simultaneous interpretation into French

4.30pm Screening of Xiaolu Guo’s film She, a Chinese

She, a Chinese, by the writer and film-maker Xiaolu Guo, follows the story of Li Mei (Lu Huang), a young woman who journeys from a remote Chinese village through a disastrous factory job in Chongqing to London, finding that “the west” – an idealised place of impossibly glamorous consumer riches – is just as tough as the place she left. According to Xiaolu Guo, she intended “to make a film that challenges the traditional Chinese cinema style and to cross over cultural borders, with a fresh artistic language and a personal voice”. For her “this is a very personal film about a village youth who is trying to break with her old peasant identity”. She, a Chinese masterfully addresses many contemporary issues of surviving, leaving and belonging in a globalized world. The film won the Golden Leopard at Locarno in 2009 and has been admired on the festival circuit.

→ Auditorium

6.30pm Interview with

Tahar Ben Jelloun

Moderation: Pascal Schouwey

In French

→ Auditorium

7.30pm-7.45pm Signing

→ Pop-up Bookshop Elemental Hut

8pm Apéritif


Rates and Reservations

Day Pass CHF 20.- (full price) | CHF 10.- (retired, unemployed, AI and under 30) | free for children

On reservation at dimanche-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Access to all Sunday events, entrance to the exhibition and bus shuttles from Apples Station are included in the Day Pass.


The authors

Tahar Ben Jelloun

Tahar Ben Jelloun, born in 1947 in Fez, studied and taught philosophy in Morocco. Having arrived in France in 1971, he published his first novel with the publisher Maurice Nadeau in 1973, followed by poems published with François Maspero. He has written for Le Monde since 1972, then for several European newspapers. Tahar Ben Jelloun is the author of around twenty novels, including The Sand Child (1985), The Sacred Night (1987,which won the Prix Goncourt), This Blinding Absence of Light (2001, International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2004), Le mariage de plaisir (2016), as well as educational essays: Racism explained to my daughter (1998, United Nations Prize for Tolerance), Islam explained to children (and their parents) (2002) and Terrorism explained to our children (2015). His books are translated into more than forty languages. His last title, La punition (2018), looks at his experience of captivity in a Moroccan army penal camp. Since 2010, he alternates between writing and painting, and his paintings have been on display in several galleries in Paris, Morocco, Italy and Dubai.

György Dragomán

György Dragomán was born in Târgu Mureș/Marosvásárhely, Transylvania, in 1973 and moved to Hungary when he was fifteen. The White King was first published in its original Hungarian in 2005, it won prizes including the Jan Michalski Prize in 2011 and became an iconic bestseller. It is now published in over thirty languages and has been made into a highly acclaimed English-language film. His novel The Bonfire, published in Hungarian in 2015, has been translated into many languages and is awaiting its publication in French and English. György Dragomán works as a translator: among the works he has translated into Hungarian are short stories, essays and texts by James Joyce, I. B. Singer, Neil Jordan, Irvine Welsh and Ian McEwan. He lives in Budapest with his family.

Xiaolu Guo

Xiaolu Guo was born in 1973 in a small fishing village in southern China. She studied film at the Beijing Film Academy and published six books in China before she moved to London in 2002. The English translation of Village of Stone was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. Her first novel written in English, A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers, was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction, and 20 Fragments of a Ravenous Youth, published in 2008, was longlisted for the Man Asian Literary Prize. Her most recent book, Once Upon a Time in the East, won the Autobiography category of the 2017 National Book Critics’ Circle Award. In 2013, she was named as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. Xiaolu Guo has also directed several award-winning films including She, a Chinese, for which she was awarded the Golden Leopard in Locarno in 2009, and a documentary about London, Late at Night.

Gazmend Kapllani

Gazmend Kapllani, born in 1967 in Albania, is a writer, journalist, and scholar. He lived in Athens for over twenty years where he received his PhD in political science and history from Panteion University, exploring the image of Albanians in the Greek press and of Greeks in the Albanian press. Gazmend Kapllani wrote his first three novels in Greek, not his native language. His work centers on themes of migration, minorities, borders, totalitarianism, and how Balkan history has shaped public and private narratives and memories. Kapllani’s novels A Short Border Handbook, My Name is Europe and The Last Page have been translated into many languages. A campaigner for human rights and justice for minorities, he was a victim of intimidation and death threats from the Greek neo-Nazi party, Golden Dawn. Since 2012, he has been living in the US. Currently he teaches Creative Writing and European History at Emerson College in Boston.

Katja Petrowskaja

Katja Petrowskaja was born in Kiev in 1970, to a Russian-speaking family. She studied literature in Tartu, Estonia and then completed her PhD in Moscow and in Columbia University in New York, and in Stanford University in California. She has lived in Berlin since 1999 where she works as a journalist for various Russian and German media. She won the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize in 2013 for her bestselling first book Maybe Esther, written in German. In this book she researched the origins of her family, exploring the heart of now disappeared Mitteleuropa. Awarded many other European prizes, it was a Spiegel bestseller and has been translated into nineteen languages.

Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib, born in 1966 in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg), emigrated with his family to Israel in 1971 before settling in Austria in 1981. He now lives in Salzburg. Awarded the Adalbert von Chamisso Prize (prize for a German-language book written by a non-native speaker) and the Anton Wildgans Award, his works are translated into several languages. His first publication in France, L’étrange mémoire de Rosa Masur (Métailié, 2016), received an excellent critical and public reception. Lucia et l’âme russe appeared this spring 2018. A great storyteller, Vladimir Vertlib writes epic novels spanning 20th century European history, peopled with colourful characters and looking at our collective and individual identity.


See also

BIBLIOTOPIA | Friday, 4th May-Inaugural evening Programme

BIBLIOTOPIA | Saturday, 5th May Programme 

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

BIBLIOTOPIA week-end des littératures autour du monde | Programme du dimanche

Dimanche 6 mai 2018 de 11h à 20h30

PROGRAMME

11h00 Rencontre croisée György Dragomán et Gazmend Kapllani

Frontières visibles et invisibles

Modération :  Ed Girardet

En anglais, traduit simultanément en français

12h00 Lectures à voix haute

→ Auditorium

12h15-12h45 Signatures

→ Librairie éphémère Cabane Elemental


14h00 Rencontre croisée Katja Petrowskaja et Vladimir Vertlib

Mémoire et chemins d’exil

Modération : Barbara Fontaine

En allemand, traduit simultanément en français

15h00 Lectures à voix haute

→ Auditorium

15h15-15h45 Signatures

→ Librairie éphémère Cabane Elemental


16h00 Entretien avec Xiaolu Guo

Reconstruire ses identités entre cinéma et littérature

Modération : Ed Girardet

En anglais, traduit simultanément en français

16h30 Projection du film de Xiaolu Guo She, a Chinese/Une Chinoise

She, a Chinese/Une Chinoise, de l’écrivain et réalisatrice Xiaolu Guo, suit le parcours de Li Mei (Lu Huang), qui quitte son village pour travailler dans une usine de Chongqing. L’expérience est désastreuse, la jeune femme part alors pour Londres en quête d’un « ouest » idéalisé, qui s’avèrera aussi dur que l’environnement qu’elle a quitté. Selon Xiaolu Guo, « ce film, très personnel, sur une jeune villageoise qui tente de rompre avec ses racines paysannes, renouvelle les codes du cinéma chinois traditionnel, traversant les frontières culturelles, pour proposer un regard artistique singulier et original. » She, a Chinese/Une Chinoise aborde avec maestria les questions contemporaines de l’identité entre deux cultures, de la vie ou survie dans un monde globalisé. Le film a reçu le Léopard d’or à Locarno en 2009, et a été acclamé dans de nombreux festivals.

→ Auditorium

18h30 Grand entretien avec

Tahar Ben Jelloun

Modération : Pascal Schouwey

En français

→ Auditorium

19h30-19h45 Signatures

→ Librairie éphémère Cabane Elemental

20h Verrée


Modalités pratiques

Pass journée CHF 20.- (plein tarif) | CHF 10.-(retraités, chômeurs, AI et moins de 30 ans) | offert pour les enfants

Sur réservation à dimanche-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Sont inclus dans ce pass journée l’accès à tous les événements du programme du dimanche, l’entrée à l’exposition et les navettes en bus depuis la gare d’Apples.


Les auteurs 

Tahar Ben Jelloun

Tahar Ben Jelloun, né en 1947 à Fès, a étudié puis enseigné la philosophie au Maroc. Arrivé en France en 1971, il publie son premier roman chez Maurice Nadeau en 1973, suivi de poèmes chez François Maspero. Il collabore dès 1972 au journal Le Monde, puis à plusieurs journaux européens. Tahar Ben Jelloun est l’auteur d’une vingtaine de romans dont L’enfant de sable (Le Seuil, 1985), La nuit sacrée (1987, Prix Goncourt), Cette aveuglante absence de lumière (2001, International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2004), Le mariage de plaisir (Gallimard, 2016), ainsi que d’essais pédagogiques : Le racisme expliqué à ma fille (Le Seuil, 1998, Prix des Nations Unies pour la tolérance), L’islam expliqué aux enfants (et à leurs parents) (2002)et Le terrorisme expliqué à nos enfants (2015). Ses livres sont traduits en plus de quarante langues. Son dernier titre La punition (Gallimard, 2018) revient sur son expérience de captivité dans un camp disciplinaire de l’armée marocaine. Depuis 2010, il alterne écriture et peinture, développant une œuvre peinte qui a fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions à Paris, au Maroc, en Italie et à Dubaï.

György Dragomán

György Dragomán, né en 1973 à Târgu Mureș/Marosvásárhely en Roumanie, au sein de la minorité hongroise de Transylvanie, émigre en Hongrie à l’âge de quinze ans. Titulaire d’un doctorat de littérature anglaise moderne, il vit actuellement à Budapest avec sa famille. Ses romans, écrits en hongrois, reçoivent des prix de renom et sont traduits dans plus de trente langues. Le roi blanc (Gallimard, 2009, pour la traduction française, prix Jan Michalski de littérature 2011), saisissant à hauteur d’enfant la brutalité et l’absurde de la vie en pays totalitaire, est devenu un best-seller et a été adapté au cinéma en 2016. Parallèlement à son activité d’écrivain, György Dragomán traduit en hongrois des auteurs britanniques, tels que James Joyce, I. B. Singer, Neil Jordan, Irvine Welsh et Ian McEwan.

Xiaolu Guo

Xiaolu Guo, née en 1973 dans un village de pêcheurs du sud de la Chine, a étudié à la Beijing Film Academy. Elle publie six romans en Chine, dont La ville de pierre (Philippe Picquier, 2004, pour la traduction française), avant de s’établir à Londres en 2002. Se partageant entre littérature et cinéma, ses œuvres questionnent les déplacements, la mémoire et les identités transnationales. Elle est l’auteur notamment du très remarqué Petit dictionnaire chinois-anglais pour amants (Buchet-Chastel, 2008), écrit en anglais et traduit en vingt-trois langues, finaliste de l’Orange Prize for Fiction, et de Vingt fragments d’une jeunesse vorace (2009). En 2013, Xiaolu Guo figure sur la liste des meilleurs jeunes romanciers britanniques du magazine Granta. Son dernier titre, sous forme de mémoires, non traduit en français, Once Upon a Time in the East, a remporté le National Book Critics’ Circles Award en 2017. Elle est aussi réalisatrice de plusieurs films, dont She, a Chinese/Une Chinoise, Léopard d’or du Festival de Locarno en 2009.

Gazmend Kapllani

Gazmend Kapllani, né en 1967 en Albanie, immigre en Grèce en 1991. Il y exerce différents métiers, tout en poursuivant des études à l’université d’Athènes, puis soutient un doctorat sur la représentation des Albanais dans la presse grecque et des Grecs dans la presse albanaise. Romancier, dramaturge, poète et éditorialiste reconnu, il est traduit dans de nombreuses langues. Ses ouvrages Je m’appelle Europe (Intervalles, 2012), Petit journal de bord des frontières(2013) et La dernière page (2015) font résonner les thèmes des frontières et de la migration, des totalitarismes et de l’histoire des Balkans. Ardent défenseur des droits de l’homme, de la justice et des minorités, Gazmend Kapllani a été victime, en raison de ses prises de positions, de nombreuses intimidations et menaces de mort de la part du parti néonazi Aube dorée. Il s’installe aux Etats-Unis en 2002 et réside actuellement à Boston, où il enseigne l’écriture créative et l’histoire européenne.

Katja Petrowskaja

Katja Petrowskaja est née en 1970 à Kiev en Ukraine, dans une famille russophone. Après des études littéraires à Tartu en Estonie, puis à New York, Stanford et Moscou, elle s’est installée à Berlin en 1999 où elle est journaliste pour divers médias russes et allemands. En 2013, elle remporte le prestigieux prix Ingeborg Bachmann. Son premier livre, Peut-être Esther (Seuil, 2015, pour la traduction française), qu’elle a choisi d’écrire en allemand, se dessine comme une quête des origines, au cœur d’une Mitteleuropa aujourd’hui disparue. Rapidement devenu un best-seller, multiprimé, il est traduit en dix-neuf langues.

Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib, né en 1966 à Leningrad (aujourd’hui Saint-Pétersbourg), a émigré en 1971 en Israël avec sa famille avant de s’établir en Autriche, en 1981. Il vit aujourd’hui à Salzbourg. Récompensées par le prix Adalbert von Chamisso (décerné à un ouvrage de langue allemande écrit par un auteur dont ce n’est pas la langue maternelle) et le prix Anton Wildgans, ses œuvres sont traduites en plusieurs langues. Sa première publication en France, L’étrange mémoire de Rosa Masur (Métailié, 2016), a reçu un excellent accueil critique et public. Paraît également au printemps 2018, Lucia et l’âme russe. Grand conteur, Vladimir Vertlib parcourt les épopées du XXe siècle à travers des personnages hauts en couleur, secouant le mythe de l’identité.


Découvrez également

BIBLIOTOPIA | Programme du vendredi 4 mai-soirée inaugurale

BIBLIOTOPIA | Programme du samedi 5 mai

 

 

 

 

 

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube