BIBLIOTOPIA literary week-end around the world | Saturday, 5th May Programme

Saturday, 5th May, 11am to 9pm

PROGRAMME 

11am Tahmima Anam and Petina Gappah in conversation

Between History and Fiction

Moderation: Matthew Wake

In English, simultaneous interpretation into French

12pm Reading

→ Auditorium

12.15-12.45pm Signing

→ Pop-up Bookshop Elemental Hut


11 am-12.30 pm – Workshop for children

Your children are welcome to attend workshops, where they will be supervised, while you attend BIBLIOTOPIA’s morning events.

In collaboration with sept.info, swiss website of slow journalism.

From 7 to 10 years up, unaccompanied children
Offered with the Bibliotopia Day Pass by reservation at: mediation@fondation-janmichalski.ch


2pm Interview with

Yasmina Khadra

Moderation: Pascal Schouwey

In French,simultaneous interpretation into English

3pm Reading

→ Auditorium

3.15-3.45pm Signing

→ Pop-up Bookshop Elemental Hut


4pm Xiaolu Guo, Katja Petrowskaja and Gazmend Kapllani in conversation

Language and Identity

Moderation: Michelle Bailat-Jones

In English, simultaneous interpretation into French

5pm Reading

→ Auditorium

5.15-5.45pm Signing

→ Pop-up Bookshop Elemental Hut


7.30pm Surprise Concert

→ Auditorium

8.30pm Apéritif


Rates and Reservations

Day Pass CHF 20.- (full price) | CHF 10.- (retired, unemployed, AI and under 30) | free for children

On reservation at samedi-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Access to all Saturday events, entrance to the exhibition and bus shuttles from Apples Station are included in the Day Pass.


The authors

Tahmima Anam

Tahmima Anam, born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, in 1975, grew up in Paris, New York and Bangkok. She was educated at Mount Holyoke College and Harvard University and now lives in Hackney east London. She is an anthropologist, a novelist and a contributing opinion writer for The New York Times. Her debut novel, A Golden Age, won the 2008 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Book and was translated into many languages. With The Good Muslim and The Bones of Grace, Tahmima Anam completed a trilogy exploring the issues of collective and individual identity, inspired by her own Western and Bangladeshi roots. In 2013, she was named one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. In 2016, she was a judge for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize.

Petina Gappah

Petina Gappah is a Zimbabwean writer with law degrees from the universities of Cambridge, Graz and Zimbabwe. Previously an international trade lawyer in Geneva, she now works as a writer and lives in Berlin. Her debut collection, An Elegy for Easterly, won the Guardian First Book Award in 2009. Her debut novel, The Book of Memory, was published in 2015: it explored the recent social and political history of Zimbabwe through the story of an albino woman consigned to Chikurubi prison in Harare, convicted of murdering a white man, her adopted father. The News of Her Death, which features in a collection of stories, Rotten Row, was shortlisted for the 2016 Sunday Times Short Story Award.

Xiaolu Guo

Xiaolu Guo was born in 1973 in a small fishing village in southern China. She studied film at the Beijing Film Academy and published six books in China before she moved to London in 2002. The English translation of Village of Stone was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. Her first novel written in English, A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers, was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction, and 20 Fragments of a Ravenous Youth, published in 2008, was longlisted for the Man Asian Literary Prize. Her most recent book, Once Upon a Time in the East, won the Autobiography category of the 2017 National Book Critics’ Circle Award. In 2013, she was named as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. Xiaolu Guo has also directed several award-winning films including She, a Chinese, for which she was awarded the Golden Leopard in Locarno in 2009, and a documentary about London, Late at Night.

Gazmend Kapllani

Gazmend Kapllani, born in 1967 in Albania, is a writer, journalist, and scholar. He lived in Athens for over twenty years where he received his PhD in political science and history from Panteion University, exploring the image of Albanians in the Greek press and of Greeks in the Albanian press. Gazmend Kapllani wrote his first three novels in Greek, not his native language. His work centers on themes of migration, minorities, borders, totalitarianism, and how Balkan history has shaped public and private narratives and memories. Kapllani’s novels A Short Border Handbook, My Name is Europe and The Last Page have been translated into many languages. A campaigner for human rights and justice for minorities, he was a victim of intimidation and death threats from the Greek neo-Nazi party, Golden Dawn. Since 2012, he has been living in the US. Currently he teaches Creative Writing and European History at Emerson College in Boston.

Yasmina Khadra

Yasmina Khadra is the pen name of Mohammed Moulessehoul, born in 1955 in Algerian Sahara. A former Algerian army officer, he began writing under his wife’s name in order to escape military censorship, and revealed his true identity in 2001 after leaving the army and moving to France. Awarded many prizes, his works have been translated to over forty languages and touched millions of readers. The trilogy, The Swallows of Kabul (2002), The Attack (2005) and The Sirens of Bagdad (2006), devoted to recent world conflicts, has been hugely successful. Both The Swallows of Kabul and The Attack were shortlistted for the IMPAC Award. His other well-known books that appeared in English include Wolf Dreams (1999), Cousin K (2003), What the Day Owes the Night, (2008, Best book of LIRE, and France Televisions Prize) and The Dictator’s Last Night (2015). In 2011, the Académie Française awarded him the Grand Prix de Littérature Henri Gal, celebrating his whole body of work. Many of his works were adapted for film, theatre and as graphic novels.

Katja Petrowskaja

Katja Petrowskaja was born in Kiev in 1970, to a Russian-speaking family. She studied literature in Tartu, Estonia and then completed her PhD in Moscow and in Columbia University in New York, and in Stanford University in California. She has lived in Berlin since 1999 where she works as a journalist for various Russian and German media. She won the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize in 2013 for her bestselling first book Maybe Esther, written in German. In this book she researched the origins of her family, exploring the heart of now disappeared Mitteleuropa. Awarded many other European prizes, it was a Spiegel bestseller and has been translated into nineteen languages.


See also

BIBLIOTOPIA | Friday, 4th May-Inaugural evening Programme

BIBLIOTOPIA | Sunday, 6th May Programme

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

BIBLIOTOPIA week-end des littératures autour du monde | Programme du samedi

Samedi 5 mai 2018 de 11h à 21h

PROGRAMME

11h00 Rencontre croisée Tahmima Anam et Petina Gappah

Entre histoire et fiction

Modération : Matthew Wake

En anglais, traduit simultanément en français

12h00 Lectures à voix haute

→ Auditorium

12h15-12h45 Signatures

→ Librairie éphémère Cabane Elemental


11h-12h30 Atelier pour enfants

Atelier encadré, en collaboration avec sept.info, site suisse de slow journalisme.

De 7 à 10 ans, enfants non accompagnés. Sur réservation à mediation@fondation-janmichalski.ch


14h00 Grand entretien avec

Yasmina Khadra

Modération : Pascal Schouwey

En français, traduit simultanément en anglais

15h00 Lectures à voix haute

→ Auditorium

15h15-15h45 Signatures

→ Librairie éphémère Cabane Elemental


16h00 Rencontre croisée Xiaolu Guo, Katja Petrowskaja et Gazmend Kapllani

Langue et identité

Modération : Michelle Bailat-Jones

En anglais, traduit simultanément en français

17h00 Lectures à voix haute

→ Auditorium

17h15-17h45 Signatures

→ Librairie éphémère Cabane Elemental


19h30 Concert surprise

→ Auditorium

20h30 Verrée


Modalités pratiques

Pass journée CHF 20.- (plein tarif) | CHF 10.-(retraités, chômeurs, AI et moins de 30 ans) | offert pour les enfants

Sur réservation à samedi-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Sont inclus dans ce pass journée l’accès à tous les événements du programme du samedi, l’entrée à l’exposition et les navettes en bus depuis la gare d’Apples.


Les auteurs 

Tahmima Anam

Tahmima Anam, née en 1975 au Bangladesh, a grandi entre Paris, New York et Bangkok. Anthropologue diplômée d’Harvard et romancière, également chroniqueuse pour la presse, elle vit aujourd’hui à Londres. Son premier roman, Une vie de choix (Les Deux Terres, 2009, pour la traduction française), a été traduit dans une douzaine de langues et a reçu le prix du meilleur premier livre du Commonwealth. Avec Un bon musulman (Actes Sud, 2012) et Les vaisseaux frères (2017), elle complète sa trilogie romanesque sur les questions d’identité individuelle et collective, entre racines bangladaises et vie occidentale. En 2013, la prestigieuse revue Granta la distingue parmi les meilleurs jeunes romanciers britanniques de la décennie. Et, en 2016, elle a été membre du jury du Man Booker Prize.

Petina Gappah

Petina Gappah, née au Zimbabwe en 1971, a suivi des études de droit à l’université du Zimbabwe, à Graz puis à Cambridge. Juriste internationale à Genève pendant de nombreuses années, elle travaille aujourd’hui principalement comme écrivain et habite à Berlin. Son premier recueil de nouvelles, Les racines déchirées (Plon, 2010 pour la traduction française), a été récompensé par le Guardian First Book Prize en 2009. Dans son roman Le livre de Memory (Lattès, 2016), à travers le portrait d’une femme albinos emprisonnée pour le meurtre d’un homme blanc qu’elle n’a pas commis, Petina Gappah poursuit l’exploration de l’histoire sociale et politique contemporaine du Zimbabwe, y croisant les questions du destin et de la liberté, de la tradition et de la tentation de la modernité.

Xiaolu Guo

Xiaolu Guo, née en 1973 dans un village de pêcheurs du sud de la Chine, a étudié à la Beijing Film Academy. Elle publie six romans en Chine, dont La ville de pierre (Philippe Picquier, 2004, pour la traduction française), avant de s’établir à Londres en 2002. Se partageant entre littérature et cinéma, ses œuvres questionnent les déplacements, la mémoire et les identités transnationales. Elle est l’auteur notamment du très remarqué Petit dictionnaire chinois-anglais pour amants (Buchet-Chastel, 2008), écrit en anglais et traduit en vingt-trois langues, finaliste de l’Orange Prize for Fiction, et de Vingt fragments d’une jeunesse vorace (2009). En 2013, Xiaolu Guo figure sur la liste des meilleurs jeunes romanciers britanniques du magazine Granta. Son dernier titre, sous forme de mémoires, non traduit en français, Once Upon a Time in the East, a remporté le National Book Critics’ Circles Award en 2017. Elle est aussi réalisatrice de plusieurs films, dont She, a Chinese/Une Chinoise, Léopard d’or du Festival de Locarno en 2009.

Gazmend Kapllani

Gazmend Kapllani, né en 1967 en Albanie, immigre en Grèce en 1991. Il y exerce différents métiers, tout en poursuivant des études à l’université d’Athènes, puis soutient un doctorat sur la représentation des Albanais dans la presse grecque et des Grecs dans la presse albanaise. Romancier, dramaturge, poète et éditorialiste reconnu, il est traduit dans de nombreuses langues. Ses ouvrages Je m’appelle Europe (Intervalles, 2012), Petit journal de bord des frontières(2013) et La dernière page (2015) font résonner les thèmes des frontières et de la migration, des totalitarismes et de l’histoire des Balkans. Ardent défenseur des droits de l’homme, de la justice et des minorités, Gazmend Kapllani a été victime, en raison de ses prises de positions, de nombreuses intimidations et menaces de mort de la part du parti néonazi Aube dorée. Il s’installe aux Etats-Unis en 2002 et réside actuellement à Boston, où il enseigne l’écriture créative et l’histoire européenne.

Yasmina Khadra

Yasmina Khadra est le nom de plume de Mohammed Moulessehoul, né en 1955 dans le Sahara algérien. Ancien officier de l’armée algérienne, il s’installe en France en 2001 pour échapper à la censure. Récompensée à deux reprises par l’Académie française, son œuvre est traduite dans une quarantaine de langues et a su toucher des millions de lecteurs. Sa trilogie Les hirondelles de Kaboul (Julliard, 2002), L’attentat (2005, prix des libraires et prix Tropiques) et Les sirènes de Bagdad (2006), consacrée à de récents conflits entre Orient et Occident, a largement contribué à sa renommée. Comptent aussi parmi ses romans les plus notables : A quoi rêvent les loups (1999), L’écrivain (2001), Cousine K (2003), Ce que le jour doit à la nuit (2008, Meilleur livre de l’année du magazine LIRE et prix France Télévisions), La dernière nuit du Raïs (2015), ou encore Ce que le mirage doit à l’oasis, avec Lassaâd Metoui, (Flammarion, 2017). Nombre de ses romans ont fait l’objet d’adaptations en bandes dessinées, au théâtre et au cinéma. Egalement scénariste, Yasmina Khadra prône sans relâche l’éveil à un plus grand humanisme.

Katja Petrowskaja

Katja Petrowskaja est née en 1970 à Kiev en Ukraine, dans une famille russophone. Après des études littéraires à Tartu en Estonie, puis à New York, Stanford et Moscou, elle s’est installée à Berlin en 1999 où elle est journaliste pour divers médias russes et allemands. En 2013, elle remporte le prestigieux prix Ingeborg Bachmann. Son premier livre, Peut-être Esther (Seuil, 2015, pour la traduction française), qu’elle a choisi d’écrire en allemand, se dessine comme une quête des origines, au cœur d’une Mitteleuropa aujourd’hui disparue. Rapidement devenu un best-seller, multiprimé, il est traduit en dix-neuf langues.


Découvrez également

BIBLIOTOPIA | Programme du vendredi 4 mai-soirée inaugurale

BIBLIOTOPIA | Programme du dimanche 6 mai

 

 

 

 

 

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube