BIBLIOTOPIA literary week-end around the world

From Friday 4th May to Sunday 6th May 2018

Listen to voices from elsewhere

Share views from beyond borders

Explore the imaginary

Journey the world with our writers:

Tahmima Anam, Tahar Ben Jelloun, György Dragomán,

Petina Gappah, Xiaolu Guo, Yasmina Khadra, Gazmend Kapllani,

Cécile Ladjali, Linda Lê, Katja Petrowskaja, Vladimir Vertlib…

and with the musicians

Noa and Maya Youssef.


The authors

Tahmima Anam

Tahmima Anam, born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, in 1975, grew up in Paris, New York and Bangkok. She was educated at Mount Holyoke College and Harvard University and now lives in Hackney east London. She is an anthropologist, a novelist and a contributing opinion writer for The New York Times. Her debut novel, A Golden Age, won the 2008 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Book and was translated into many languages. With The Good Muslim and The Bones of Grace, Tahmima Anam completed a trilogy exploring the issues of collective and individual identity, inspired by her own Western and Bangladeshi roots. In 2013, she was named one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. In 2016, she was a judge for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize.

Tahar Ben Jelloun

Tahar Ben Jelloun, born in 1947 in Fez, studied and taught philosophy in Morocco. Having arrived in France in 1971, he published his first novel with the publisher Maurice Nadeau in 1973, followed by poems published with François Maspero. He has written for Le Monde since 1972, then for several European newspapers. Tahar Ben Jelloun is the author of around twenty novels, including The Sand Child (1985), The Sacred Night (1987,which won the Goncourt Prize), This Blinding Absence of Light (2001, International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2004), Le mariage de plaisir (2016), as well as educational essays: Racism explained to my daughter (1998, United Nations Prize for Tolerance), Islam explained to children (and their parents) (2002) and Terrorism explained to our children (2015). His books are translated into more than forty languages. His last title, La punition (2018), looks at his experience of captivity in a Moroccan army penal camp. Since 2010, he alternates between writing and painting, and his paintings have been on display in several galleries in Paris, Morocco, Italy and Dubai.

György Dragomán

György Dragomán was born in Târgu Mureș/Marosvásárhely, Transylvania, in 1973 and moved to Hungary when he was fifteen. The White King was first published in its original Hungarian in 2005, it won prizes including the Jan Michalski Prize in 2011 and became an iconic bestseller. It is now published in over thirty languages and has been made into a highly acclaimed English-language film. His novel The Bonfire, published in Hungarian in 2015, has been translated into many languages and is awaiting its publication in French and English. György Dragomán works as a translator: among the works he has translated into Hungarian are short stories, essays and texts by James Joyce, I. B. Singer, Neil Jordan, Irvine Welsh and Ian McEwan. He lives in Budapest with his family.

Petina Gappah

Petina Gappah is a Zimbabwean writer with law degrees from the universities of Cambridge, Graz and Zimbabwe. Previously an international trade lawyer in Geneva, she now works as a writer and lives in Berlin. Her debut collection, An Elegy for Easterly, won the Guardian First Book Award in 2009. Her debut novel, The Book of Memory, was published in 2015: it explored the recent social and political history of Zimbabwe through the story of an albino woman consigned to Chikurubi prison in Harare, convicted of murdering a white man, her adopted father. The News of Her Death, which features in a collection of stories, Rotten Row, was shortlisted for the 2016 Sunday Times Short Story Award.

Xiaolu Guo

Xiaolu Guo was born in 1973 in a small fishing village in southern China. She studied film at the Beijing Film Academy and published six books in China before she moved to London in 2002. The English translation of Village of Stone was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. Her first novel written in English, A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers, was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction, and 20 Fragments of a Ravenous Youth, published in 2008, was longlisted for the Man Asian Literary Prize. Her most recent book, Once Upon a Time in the East, won the Autobiography category of the 2017 National Book Critics’ Circle Award. In 2013, she was named as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. Xiaolu Guo has also directed several award-winning films including She, a Chinese, for which she was awarded the Golden Leopard in Locarno in 2009, and a documentary about London, Late at Night.

Gazmend Kapllani

Gazmend Kapllani, born in 1967 in Albania, is a writer, journalist, and scholar. He lived in Athens for over twenty years where he received his PhD in political science and history from Panteion University, exploring the image of Albanians in the Greek press and of Greeks in the Albanian press. Gazmend Kapllani wrote his first three novels in Greek, not his native language. His work centers on themes of migration, minorities, borders, totalitarianism, and how Balkan history has shaped public and private narratives and memories. Kapllani’s novels A Short Border Handbook, My Name is Europe and The Last Page have been translated into many languages. A campaigner for human rights and justice for minorities, he was a victim of intimidation and death threats from the Greek neo-Nazi party, Golden Dawn. Since 2012, he has been living in the US. Currently he teaches Creative Writing and European History at Emerson College in Boston.

Yasmina Khadra

Yasmina Khadra is the pen name of Mohammed Moulessehoul, born in 1955 in Algerian Sahara. A former Algerian army officer, he began writing under his wife’s name in order to escape military censorship, and revealed his true identity in 2001 after leaving the army and moving to France. Awarded many prizes, his works have been translated to over forty languages and touched millions of readers. The trilogy, The Swallows of Kabul (2002), The Attack (2005) and The Sirens of Bagdad (2006), devoted to recent world conflicts, has been hugely successful. Both The Swallows of Kabul and The Attack were shortlisted for the IMPAC Award. His other well-known books that appeared in English include Wolf Dreams (1999), Cousin K (2003), What the Day Owes the Night, (2008, Best book of LIRE, and prize France Televisions) and The Dictator’s Last Night (2015). In 2011, the Académie Française awarded him the Grand prix de Littérature Henri Gal, celebrating his whole body of work. Many of his works were adapted for film, theatre and as graphic novels.

Cécile Ladjali

Cécile Ladjali, born in 1971 in Lausanne of an Iranian mother, was brought up in France by adoptive parents. A graduate in modern literature, her doctorate was on the androgynous figure in 19th century literature. She teaches French at a secondary school and at Sorbonne-Nouvelle University. A novelist, playwright, and essayist, Cécile Ladjali published Les souffleurs (Actes Sud, 2004), La Chapelle Ajax (2005), Louis et la jeune fille (2006), Shâb ou la nuit  (2013, prix du Roman Métis des Lycéens), Illettré (2015) and Benedict (2018), where she explores themes of dual belongings, the quest for origins and the power of words. She also published Éloge de la transmission (Albin Michel, 2003), in collaboration with George Steiner, and Mauvaise langue (Seuil, 2007, prix Femina pour la Défense de la langue française). She directs the collection “Le préau” at Actes Sud, which explores new ways of transmitting and acquiring knowledge. 

Linda Lê

Born in 1963 in Vietnam, Linda Lê arrived in France in 1977, after the Vietnam War. The French language, learnt during her childhood in Saigon, became, if not her homeland, than a free space to explore being attached and being exiled. Her first books appeared when she was very young and were very well received. From 1993, Christian Bourgois became the publisher of her numerous novels, many of them translated and published to great acclaim, amongst them Calomnies (1993), Les dits d’un idiot (1995), Les trois Parques et Voix (1998), Lettre morte (1999), Personne (2003), In memoriam (2007), Cronos (2010, Wepler-Foundation La Poste Award),  À l’enfant que je n’aurai pas (Nil, 2011, Renaudot-poche Prize), Lame de fond (2012, among the four finalists for the Goncourt Prize), Par ailleurs (exils) (2015, French Academy Louis Barthou Prize), Roman (2016). Her latest book, Héroïnes, (2017), explores the portraits of three women, who embody Vietnam in exile.

Katja Petrowskaja

Katja Petrowskaja was born in Kiev in 1970, to a Russian-speaking family. She studied literature in Tartu, Estonia and then completed her PhD in Moscow and in Columbia University in New York, and in Stanford University in California. She has lived in Berlin since 1999 where she works as a journalist for various Russian and German media. She won the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize in 2013 for her bestselling first book Maybe Esther, written in German. In this book she researched the origins of her family, exploring the heart of now disappeared Mitteleuropa. Awarded many other European prizes, it was a Spiegel bestseller and has been translated into nineteen languages.

Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib, born in 1966 in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg), emigrated with his family to Israel in 1971 before settling in Austria in 1981. He now lives in Salzburg. Awarded the Adalbert von Chamisso Prize (prize for a German-language book written by a non-native speaker) and the Anton Wildgans Award, his works are translated into several languages. His first publication in France, L’étrange mémoire de Rosa Masur (Métailié, 2016), received an excellent critical and public reception. Lucia et l’âme russe appeared this spring 2018. A great storyteller, Vladimir Vertlib writes epic novels spanning 20th century European history, peopled with colourful characters and looking at our collective and individual identity.

Unfortenately Dubravka Ugrešić had to cancel her visit.


The musicians

Maya Youssef

From Syria, speaker, humanist and virtuoso of the qanun disseminates peace through the healing power of music. One day, aged 9, on her way to the music institute where she was reluctantly studying the violin, the taxi driver was playing a recording of an instrument that blew her mind – it was the qanun. When she told him she was determined to learn it his reply shocked her, but kindled a flame: he told her girls did not play the qanun; it was a man’s instrument played only by men. He laughed at her when she told him she would learn to play it. Now, Damascus born Maya Youssef is hailed as “queen of the qanun”, the 78 stringed Middle Eastern plucked zither. She moved to London under the Arts Council’s “exceptional talent” scheme and has played at the Proms and alongside Damon Albarn. When the war started in Syria, writing music was “no longer a choice” and that was the birth of her highly acclaimed debut album Syrian Dreams (produced by the legendary Joe Boyd). For Maya the act of playing music is the opposite of death; it is a life and hope affirming act. For her, music is a healer and an antidote to what is happening not only in Syria, but in the whole world.

Maya Youssef’s Concert Syrian Dreams, Friday 4th May at 7.30 pm, see programme below.

Noa

Achinoam Nini (known also as Noa), Israeli born of Yemenite origin, was raised in the US and resides now in her native country. She is Israel’s leading international singer and songwriter, having shared the stage with superstars such as Sting, Pat Metheny, Quincy Jones, Stevie Wonder, Andrea Bocelli and many more. Together with her longstanding collaborator Gil Dor, she has released over fifteen albums which have sold millions the world over. She wrote lyrics to and recorded the hugely successful theme song for the Academy Award winning film La Vita e Bella. Noa sings in six languages, has collaborated with Symphony Orchestras around the world, and performed in the world’s most prestigious venues, including the Vatican and the White House. Beyond her passionate commitment to music, Noa dedicates much of her time to promoting peace and dialogue between Israel and Palestine and to various social issues, volunteering extensively for organisations in these fields. In particular she was Israel’s first Good Will Ambassador for FAO, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations in 2003.

Noa’s Concert Beyond Border, Sunday 5th May at 7.30 pm, see programme below. *SOLD OUT*


The complete program

BIBLIOTOPIA | Friday, 4th May-Inaugural evening Programme

BIBLIOTOPIA | Saturday, 5th May Programme

BIBLIOTOPIA | Sunday, 6th May Programme 


Rates and Reservations

Inaugural evening – Friday, 4th May

Single price of CHF 10.-

On reservation at vendredi-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Saturday, 5th May

Day Pass CHF 20.- (full price) | CHF 10.- (retired, unemployed, AI and under 30) | free for children

Access to all Saturday events, entrance to the exhibition and bus shuttles from Apples Station are included in the Day Pass.

*Noa’s concert is sold out but everyone is welcome to the literary events of the day*

On reservation at samedi-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Sunday, 6th May

Day Pass CHF 20.- (full price) | CHF 10.- (retired, unemployed, AI and under 30) | free for children

On reservation at dimanche-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Access to all Sunday events, entrance to the exhibition and bus shuttles from Apples Station are included in the Day Pass.


Transport network

During the Bibliotopia weekend, you can take a train from Morges or Bière to Apples, shuttle buses are available from the Apples train station to the Jan Michalski Foundation, according to the timetable below:

Friday, 4th May
Apples, station                          dp           5.30pm     
Montricher, Foundation          ar           5.45pm      
…………………………………………………………………………
Montricher, Foundation       dp           10.10pm
Apples, station                        ar           10.25pm

Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th May
Apples, station                          dp           9.30am      10.30am    11.30am
Montricher, Foundation          ar            9.45am      10.45am    11.45am
…………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Montricher, Foundation       dp           4.10pm    6.10pm    10.10pm
Apples, station                        ar           4.25pm    6.25pm    10.25pm

Connection to Apples station is guaranteed.


Food & Drink

Our cafeteria, located in the central square of the foundation, will offer lunch and sweet snacks, by Yves Hohl, for sale throughout the Bibliotopia weekend.

— Friday 4th May 2 pm to 6.30 pm – Saturday 5th May 10 am to 9 pm – Sunday 6th May 10 am to 9 pm


Bookstore and signings

The pop-up bookshop of Bibliotopia, based in the Foundation’s Elemental hut, offers all the works of the invited authors, in French, English and different languages. The authors will also sign their books at the times indicated in the programme.

In collaboration with Librairie du Château, Rolle.

— Free admission, Friday 4th May 2 pm to 9.30 pm – Saturday 5th May 10 am to 7.30 pm – Sunday 6th May 10 am to 9 pm


Library

Literature from all around the world can also be read in the Foundation’s library: travel through the multilingual collections of more than 60,000 books and discover our new children’s book section.

— Free admission, Friday 4th May 9 am to 6 pm – Saturday 5th May 9 am to 7.30 pm – Sunday 6th May 9 am to 6 pm


Exhibition Etel Adnan | La fulgurance du geste

Public coming to the Bibliotopia weekend will have free access to the exhibition: explore the languages of the Lebanese-American painter and writer Etel Adnan, who uses words, lines and colour to explore the beauty of the universe.

— Free entrance with the purchase of a Bibliotopia Day Pass,
Friday 4th May 2 pm to 6 pm – Saturday 5th May 9 am to 5.15 pm – Sunday 6th May 9 am to 6 pm


The areas of the Foundation intended for the public are completely accessible to people with disabilities or reduced mobility.

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

BIBLIOTOPIA week-end des littératures autour du monde

Du vendredi 4 mai au dimanche 6 mai 2018

Rendez-vous à la Fondation Jan Michalski

pour un week-end des littératures autour du monde.

Ecoutez des voix d’ailleurs,

conversez par-delà les frontières,

conjuguez les imaginaires,

cheminez sur des routes nomades en compagnie des écrivains :

Tahmima Anam, Tahar Ben Jelloun, György Dragomán,

Petina Gappah, Xiaolu Guo, Yasmina Khadra, Gazmend Kapllani,

Cécile Ladjali, Linda Lê, Katja Petrowskaja, Vladimir Vertlib…

et des chanteuses et musiciennes 

Noa et Maya Youssef.


Les auteurs invités

Tahmima Anam

Tahmima Anam, née en 1975 au Bangladesh, a grandi entre Paris, New York et Bangkok. Anthropologue diplômée d’Harvard et romancière, également chroniqueuse pour la presse, elle vit aujourd’hui à Londres. Son premier roman, Une vie de choix (Les Deux Terres, 2009, pour la traduction française), a été traduit dans une douzaine de langues et a reçu le prix du meilleur premier livre du Commonwealth. Avec Un bon musulman (Actes Sud, 2012) et Les vaisseaux frères (2017), elle complète sa trilogie romanesque sur les questions d’identité individuelle et collective, entre racines bangladaises et vie occidentale. En 2013, la prestigieuse revue Granta la distingue parmi les meilleurs jeunes romanciers britanniques de la décennie. Et, en 2016, elle a été membre du jury du Man Booker Prize.

Tahar Ben Jelloun

Tahar Ben Jelloun, né en 1947 à Fès, a étudié puis enseigné la philosophie au Maroc. Arrivé en France en 1971, il publie son premier roman chez Maurice Nadeau en 1973, suivi de poèmes chez François Maspero. Il collabore dès 1972 au journal Le Monde, puis à plusieurs journaux européens. Tahar Ben Jelloun est l’auteur d’une vingtaine de romans dont L’enfant de sable (Le Seuil, 1985), La nuit sacrée (1987, prix Goncourt), Cette aveuglante absence de lumière (2001, International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2004), Le mariage de plaisir (Gallimard, 2016), ainsi que d’essais pédagogiques : Le racisme expliqué à ma fille (Le Seuil, 1998, prix des Nations Unies pour la tolérance), L’islam expliqué aux enfants (et à leurs parents) (2002) et Le terrorisme expliqué à nos enfants (2015). Ses livres sont traduits en plus de quarante langues. Son dernier titre La punition (Gallimard, 2018) revient sur son expérience de captivité dans un camp disciplinaire de l’armée marocaine. Depuis 2010, il alterne écriture et peinture, développant une œuvre peinte qui a fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions à Paris, au Maroc, en Italie et à Dubaï.

György Dragomán

György Dragomán, né en 1973 à Târgu Mureș/Marosvásárhely en Roumanie, au sein de la minorité hongroise de Transylvanie, émigre en Hongrie à l’âge de quinze ans. Titulaire d’un doctorat de littérature anglaise moderne, il vit actuellement à Budapest avec sa famille. Ses romans, écrits en hongrois, reçoivent des prix de renom et sont traduits dans plus de trente langues. Le roi blanc (Gallimard, 2009, pour la traduction française, prix Jan Michalski de littérature 2011), saisissant à hauteur d’enfant la brutalité et l’absurde de la vie en pays totalitaire, est devenu un best-seller et a été adapté au cinéma en 2016. Parallèlement à son activité d’écrivain, György Dragomán traduit en hongrois des auteurs britanniques, tels que James Joyce, I. B. Singer, Neil Jordan, Irvine Welsh et Ian McEwan.

Petina Gappah

Petina Gappah, née au Zimbabwe en 1971, a suivi des études de droit à l’université du Zimbabwe, à Graz puis à Cambridge. Juriste internationale à Genève pendant de nombreuses années, elle travaille aujourd’hui principalement comme écrivain et habite à Berlin. Son premier recueil de nouvelles, Les racines déchirées (Plon, 2010 pour la traduction française), a été récompensé par le Guardian First Book Prize en 2009. Dans son roman Le livre de Memory (Lattès, 2016), à travers le portrait d’une femme albinos emprisonnée pour le meurtre d’un homme blanc qu’elle n’a pas commis, Petina Gappah poursuit l’exploration de l’histoire sociale et politique contemporaine du Zimbabwe, y croisant les questions du destin et de la liberté, de la tradition et de la tentation de la modernité.

Xiaolu Guo

Xiaolu Guo, née en 1973 dans un village de pêcheurs du sud de la Chine, a étudié à la Beijing Film Academy. Elle publie six romans en Chine, dont La ville de pierre (Philippe Picquier, 2004, pour la traduction française), avant de s’établir à Londres en 2002. Se partageant entre littérature et cinéma, ses œuvres questionnent les déplacements, la mémoire et les identités transnationales. Elle est l’auteur notamment du très remarqué Petit dictionnaire chinois-anglais pour amants (Buchet-Chastel, 2008), écrit en anglais et traduit en vingt-trois langues, finaliste de l’Orange Prize for Fiction, et de Vingt fragments d’une jeunesse vorace (2009). En 2013, Xiaolu Guo figure sur la liste des meilleurs jeunes romanciers britanniques du magazine Granta. Son dernier titre, sous forme de mémoires, non traduit en français, Once Upon a Time in the East, a remporté le National Book Critics’ Circles Award en 2017. Elle est aussi réalisatrice de plusieurs films, dont She, a Chinese/Une Chinoise, Léopard d’or du Festival de Locarno en 2009.

Gazmend Kapllani

Gazmend Kapllani, né en 1967 en Albanie, immigre en Grèce en 1991. Il y exerce différents métiers, tout en poursuivant des études à l’université d’Athènes, puis soutient un doctorat sur la représentation des Albanais dans la presse grecque et des Grecs dans la presse albanaise. Romancier, dramaturge, poète et éditorialiste reconnu, il est traduit dans de nombreuses langues. Ses ouvrages Je m’appelle Europe (Intervalles, 2012 pour la traduction française), Petit journal de bord des frontières (2013) et La dernière page (2015) font résonner les thèmes des frontières et de la migration, des totalitarismes et de l’histoire des Balkans. Ardent défenseur des droits de l’homme, de la justice et des minorités, Gazmend Kapllani a été victime, en raison de ses prises de positions, d’intimidations et menaces de mort de la part du parti néonazi Aube dorée. Il s’installe aux Etats-Unis en 2002 et réside actuellement à Boston, où il enseigne l’écriture créative et l’histoire européenne.

Yasmina Khadra

Yasmina Khadra est le nom de plume de Mohammed Moulessehoul, né en 1955 dans le Sahara algérien. Ancien officier de l’armée algérienne, il s’installe en France en 2001 pour échapper à la censure. Récompensée à deux reprises par l’Académie française, son œuvre est traduite dans une quarantaine de langues et a su toucher des millions de lecteurs. Sa trilogie Les hirondelles de Kaboul (Julliard, 2002), L’attentat (2005, prix des libraires et prix Tropiques) et Les sirènes de Bagdad (2006), consacrée à de récents conflits entre Orient et Occident, a largement contribué à sa renommée. Comptent aussi parmi ses romans les plus notables : A quoi rêvent les loups (1999), L’écrivain (2001), Cousine K (2003), Ce que le jour doit à la nuit (2008, Meilleur livre de l’année du magazine LIRE et prix France Télévisions), La dernière nuit du Raïs (2015), ou encore Ce que le mirage doit à l’oasis, avec Lassaâd Metoui, (Flammarion, 2017). Nombre de ses romans ont fait l’objet d’adaptations en bandes dessinées, au théâtre et au cinéma. Egalement scénariste, Yasmina Khadra prône sans relâche l’éveil à un plus grand humanisme.

Cécile Ladjali

Cécile Ladjali, née à Lausanne en 1971 de mère iranienne, est élevée en France par ses parents adoptifs. Agrégée de lettres modernes, titulaire d’un doctorat sur la figure de l’androgyne dans la littérature de la fin du XIXe siècle, elle enseigne le français dans le secondaire ainsi qu’à l’université Sorbonne-Nouvelle. Romancière, dramaturge, essayiste, Cécile Ladjali a notamment publié, côté fiction, Les souffleurs (Actes Sud, 2004), La chapelle Ajax (2005), Louis et la jeune fille (2006), Shâb ou la nuit (2013, prix du Roman Métis des Lycéens), Illettré (2015) et Bénédict (2018), où reviennent les thèmes qui lui sont chers des appartenances duales, de la quête des origines et de la puissance des mots. Sont également parus les essais Éloge de la transmission (Albin Michel, 2003),en collaboration avec George Steiner, et Mauvaise langue (Seuil, 2007, prix Femina pour la Défense de la langue française). Elle dirige la collection « Le préau » aux éditions Actes Sud, qui explore les chemins de transmissions réinventées du savoir.

Linda Lê

Linda Lê, née en 1963 au Viêt Nam, est arrivée en France en 1977, après la guerre. La langue française, apprise dès l’enfance, à Saigon, est devenue, sinon sa patrie, du moins un espace libre où explorer les exils et les ancrages. Entrée tôt en littérature, avec notamment Les Évangiles du crime (Fayard, 1992), dont une presse unanime a salué l’originalité exceptionnelle, elle publie nombre de romans, nouvelles et essais, la plupart chez Christian Bourgois, parmi lesquels : Calomnies (1993), Les dits d’un idiot (1995), Les trois Parques et Voix (1998), Lettre morte (1999), Personne (2003), In memoriam (2007), Cronos (2010, prix Wepler-Fondation La Poste), À l’enfant que je n’aurai pas (Nil, 2011, prix Renaudot-poche), Lame de fond (2012), Par ailleurs (exils) (2014, prix Louis Barthou de l’Académie française), Roman (2016). Son dernier ouvrage, Héroïnes (2017), trace le portrait de trois femmes qui incarnent le Viêt Nam en exil.

Katja Petrowskaja

Katja Petrowskaja est née en 1970 à Kiev en Ukraine, dans une famille russophone. Après des études littéraires à Tartu en Estonie, puis à New York, Stanford et Moscou, elle s’est installée à Berlin en 1999 où elle est journaliste pour divers médias russes et allemands. En 2013, elle remporte le prestigieux prix Ingeborg Bachmann. Son premier livre, Peut-être Esther (Seuil, 2015, pour la traduction française), qu’elle a choisi d’écrire en allemand, se dessine comme une quête des origines, au cœur d’une Mitteleuropa aujourd’hui disparue. Rapidement devenu un best-seller, multiprimé, il est traduit en dix-neuf langues.

Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib, né en 1966 à Leningrad (aujourd’hui Saint-Pétersbourg), a émigré en 1971 en Israël avec sa famille avant de s’établir en Autriche, en 1981. Il vit aujourd’hui à Salzbourg. Récompensées par le prix Adalbert von Chamisso (décerné à un ouvrage de langue allemande écrit par un auteur dont ce n’est pas la langue maternelle) et le prix Anton Wildgans, ses œuvres sont traduites en plusieurs langues. Sa première publication en France, L’étrange mémoire de Rosa Masur (Métailié, 2016), a reçu un excellent accueil critique et public. Paraît également au printemps 2018, Lucia et l’âme russe. Grand conteur, Vladimir Vertlib parcourt les épopées du XXe siècle à travers des personnages hauts en couleur, secouant le mythe de l’identité.

Dubravka Ugrešić a malheureusement dû annuler sa venue.


Les chanteuses et musiciennes invitées

Maya Youssef

Née en Syrie au sein d’une famille d’artistes et d’écrivains, Maya Youssef étudie la musique dès l’âge de sept ans au Sulhi al-Wadi Institute of Music puis au High Institute of Music and Dramatic Arts de Damas. Fascinée par les sonorités de cet instrument ancestral, modèle de cithare orientale, elle choisit de jouer du qanoûn, pourtant réputé être réservé aux hommes, et se forme aux traditions musicales arabes, turques, arméniennes et azéri. En 2012, elle bénéficie du programme Exceptional Talent du gouvernement britannique, lui permettant de s’installer en tant qu’artiste au Royaume-Uni. Etablie à Londres, Maya Youssef enseigne le qanoûn et dirige un ensemble musical à la célèbre School of Oriental and African Studies, tout en poursuivant une carrière internationale en soliste et en quatuor. En 2017 sort son premier album Syrian Dreams qui, selon ses mots, est « un voyage intérieur, traversant six ans de guerre ». D’une générosité empreinte de virtuosité et d’humanisme, ses compositions témoignent que « jouer de la musique est un acte d’espérance et d’affirmation de la vie face à la mort ».

Concert Syrian Dreams dans le cadre de Bibliotopia, vendredi 4 mai à 19h30, voir programme ci-dessous.

Noa

Achinoam Nini, connue sous le nom de Noa, née en Israël de parents d’origine yéménite, a grandi aux États-Unis avant de revenir s’établir dans son pays natal. Compositrice et chanteuse israélienne de renommée internationale, elle a partagé la scène avec des stars telles Sting, Stevie Wonder, Pat Metheny, Quincy Jones, Andrea Bocelli et bien d’autres. Avec son complice de toujours, Gil Dor, elle a réalisé plus de quinze albums qui se sont vendus à des millions d’exemplaires à travers le monde. Elle est l’auteure du thème du film La vie est belle, immense succès récompensé aux Oscars. Noa chante en six langues, elle a collaboré avec les plus grands orchestres symphoniques et s’est produite dans des lieux prestigieux, dont le Vatican et la Maison Blanche. Au-delà de son engagement passionné pour la musique, Noa dédie une grande partie de sa vie à promouvoir le dialogue et la paix entre Israël et la Palestine, et oeuvre dans diverses associations. Elle fut notamment la première ambassadrice de bonne volonté israélienne de la FAO, l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture en 2003.

Concert Beyond Borders dans le cadre de Bibliotopia, samedi 5 mai à 19h30, voir programme ci-dessous. *COMPLET*


Tout le programme des rencontres, des lectures et autres moments musique et cinéma : 

BIBLIOTOPIA | Programme du vendredi 4 mai-soirée inaugurale

BIBLIOTOPIA | Programme du samedi 5 mai

BIBLIOTOPIA | Programme du dimanche 6 mai


Tarifs et Réservations

Soirée inaugurale du vendredi 4 mai

Tarif unique de CHF 10.-

Sur réservation à vendredi-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Journée du samedi 5 mai

Pass journée CHF 20.- (plein tarif) | CHF 10.- (retraités, chômeurs, AI et moins de 30 ans) | offert pour les enfants

Sur réservation à samedi-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Sont inclus dans ce pass journée l’accès à tous les événements du programme du samedi, l’entrée à l’exposition et les navettes en bus depuis la gare d’Apples.

* Le concert de Noa est complet mais les rencontres de la journée restent ouvertes ! *

Journée du dimanche 6 mai

Pass journée CHF 20.- (plein tarif) | CHF 10.- (retraités, chômeurs, AI et moins de 30 ans) | offert pour les enfants

Sur réservation à dimanche-bibliotopia@fondation-janmichalski.ch

Sont inclus dans ce pass journée l’accès à tous les événements du programme du dimanche, l’entrée à l’exposition et les navettes en bus depuis la gare d’Apples.


Transports

Durant le week-end Bibliotopia, prenez le train depuis Morges ou Bière jusqu’à Apples, des bus navettes vous sont offertes de la gare d’Apples jusqu’à la Fondation Jan Michalski, selon les horaires ci-dessous :

Vendredi 4 mai
Apples, gare                         dp           17h30      
Montricher, Fondation       ar            17h45      
…………………………………………………………………………
Montricher, Fondation       dp           22h10
Apples, gare                         ar            22h25

Samedi 5 et dimanche 6 mai
Apples, gare                         dp           9h30      10h30    11h30
Montricher, Fondation       ar            9h45      10h45    11h45
…………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Montricher, Fondation       dp           16h10    18h10    22h10
Apples, gare                         ar            16h25    18h25    22h25

Les correspondances à Apples gare sont garanties.


Restauration

Une restauration salée et sucrée, signée Yves Hohl, vous sera proposée à la vente pendant tout le week-end Bibliotopia, sur la place centrale de la fondation.

— Vendredi 4 mai de 14h à 18h30 – samedi 5 mai de 10h à 21h – dimanche 6 mai de 10h à 21h


Espace Librairie et Dédicaces

La librairie éphémère de Bibliotopia, installée dans la cabane Elemental de la Fondation, propose tous les ouvrages des auteurs invités, en français, en anglais et diverses langues. Les auteurs y dédicacent également leurs livres aux horaires indiqués dans le programme.

Avec la collaboration de la Librairie du Château à Rolle.

— Entrée libre, vendredi 4 mai de 14h à 21h30 – samedi 5 mai de 10h à 19h30 – dimanche 6 mai de 10h à 21h


Bibliothèque

La littérature du monde entier se lit aussi à la bibliothèque de la Fondation : voyagez dans les collections multilingues de plus de 60’000 ouvrages et découvrez le nouveau rayon de livres pour enfants.

— Entrée libre, vendredi 4 mai de 9h à 18h – samedi 5 mai de 9h à 19h30 – dimanche 6 mai de 9h à 18h


Exposition Etel Adnan | La fulgurance du geste

L’accès à l’exposition est offert au public du week-end Bibliotopia : explorez les langages de la peintre et écrivain libano-américaine Etel Adnan, qui délivre en mots, en lignes, en aplats chromatiques, son regard sensible et aiguisé sur la beauté de l’univers.

— Entrée offerte avec l’achat d’un Pass journée Bibliotopia,
vendredi 4 mai de 14h à 18h – samedi 5 mai de 9h à 17h15 – dimanche 6 mai de 9h à 18h


Tous les espaces publics de la Fondation sont accessibles aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube