Show opening Exhibition ‘‘Etel Adnan | La fulgurance du geste’’

Thursday 15 February 2018 at 6:30 pm

    The Lebanese-American poet, philosopher and artist Etel Adnan was born in 1925 in Beirut. Her mother was Greek, her father Syrian. Adnan was educated at French schools in Lebanon and studied philosophy at the Sorbonne in Paris and Berkeley and Harvard in the United States. This and long stays divided between a number of countries over the years gave rise to a cosmopolitan woman who is at ease in several languages. A spirit forever wary of settling down, an eminently free figure committed to feminism and the peace movement, Adnan has been writing and painting since the 1960s.

    Over the course of a career that has a foot in both Western and Eastern cultures, her work has embraced a multifaceted formal range that includes poems, essays, paintings, videos, leporellos (fold-out accordion books), calligraphy, tapestries and more, and at the start of them all there is the same gesture, the explosive moment of epiphany, a creator of immediate poetic images produced in a single burst of inspiration. “My paintings and drawings are a celebration of the world,” Adnan points out, celebrations in which colors applied directly from the tube or using a palette knife allow her to express “a certain joie de vivre,” while her writing, from Sitt Marie-Rose (1977), L’apocalypse arabe (1980), and Voyage au Mont Tamalpaïs (1986) to Saisons (2008) and other texts, translates a meditation on the darker aspects of life.

    Etel AdnanLa fulgurance du geste (Etel Adnan / The Dazzle of the Gesture) invites us to explore, through a collection of painted, drawn, woven and engraved works, the idioms of an artist who offers us her sensitive and incisive view of the world in words, lines and patches of color.


Show opening Thursday 15 February 2018 at 6:30 pm

Free entrance


Show runs from 16 February to 20 May 2018

Tuesday to Friday, from 2pm to 6pm

Saturday to Sunday, from 9am to 6pm

Admission CHF 5.- (adults) | CHF 3.- (students, retirees, the unemployed, groups, disabled persons) | free admission for children and young adults under 18 and for residents of Montricher


Gallery

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Vernissage public de l’exposition « Etel Adnan | La fulgurance du geste »

Jeudi 15 février 2018 à 18h30

Poétesse, philosophe et artiste libano-américaine, Etel Adnan est née en 1925 à Beyrouth d’une mère grecque et d’un père syrien. Une scolarité dans les écoles françaises du Liban, des études de philosophie à la Sorbonne, à Paris, puis à Berkeley et Harvard, aux Etats-Unis, et des séjours partagés entre différents pays fondent une personnalité cosmopolite et polyglotte. Esprit nomade, éminemment libre, figure engagée du féminisme et du mouvement pour la paix, Etel Adnan écrit et peint depuis le début des années 1960.

Au fil d’un parcours à la croisée des cultures orientale et occidentale, son œuvre se déploie dans une diversité formelle multiple : poèmes, essais, peintures, dessins, vidéos, leporellos, calligraphies, tapisseries… avec, à l’origine, un même geste, moment explosif d’épiphanie, créateur d’images poétiques immédiates, produites dans un seul élan. « Mes peintures, mes dessins sont une célébration du monde », note Etel Adnan, célébrations dans lesquelles les couleurs appliquées directement au tube ou au couteau lui permettent d’exprimer « une certaine joie de vivre », alors que l’écriture, de Sitt Marie-Rose (1977), L’apocalypse arabe (1980), Voyage au Mont Tamalpaïs (1986) à Saisons (2008) entre autres, traduit une méditation sur les aspects plus sombres de la vie.

L’exposition Etel Adnan La fulgurance du geste invite, à travers un ensemble d’œuvres peintes, dessinées, tissées ou gravées, à explorer les langages d’une artiste qui nous délivre en mots, en lignes, en aplats chromatiques, son regard sensible et aiguisé sur la beauté de l’univers.


Entrée libre au vernissage


Ouverture de l’exposition

Du 16 février au 20 mai 2018

Mardi à vendredi, de 14h à 18h

Samedi et dimanche, de 9h à 18h

Entrée CHF 5.- (plein tarif) | CHF 3.- (étudiants, retraités, chômeurs, groupes, AI) | gratuit pour les moins de 18 ans et les habitants de Montricher


 

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube