4th floor: Varia collection

 

_LFA5594

Called Varia for its diversity and varia-tions on the written word and literature, this floor opened to the public on 20 January 2016 with Sylvain Maestraggi’s exhibition Waldersbach. These new library collections are both the natural extension of the lower floors—writing and literature remain the collections’ focus—but also that extension’s shift towards something new. The space, divided into six collections, illustrates the Jan Michalski Foundation’s mission, which is to both foster and showcase literary creation in all its forms.

 

A.I / Experimental literature

If the library’s lower floors feature books that might be characterized as “traditional” in terms of their forms or how their texts are presented, the collection that immediately greets readers on the fourth floor aims to offer a different, “deconstructed” approach to books and literature. There they will find works in which the written word is used less for narrative ends than visual ones, as in concrete, visual, kinetic, or spatial poetry, or in holopoems. Readers will also discover in this collection works dealing with the depiction of books, as well as novels and poetry in which form is dislocated, lending a new dimension to writing, as in Ezra Pound’s Cantos. Finally, a selection of artists’ books that experiment with the book as object and literary works themselves both questions the reading experience and leads to new and different ones in work that is often physical.

Niikuni Kawa      Augusto do Campos  

   

A.II / Typography

“He who excels in the science of writing shall shine like the sun,” as an Egyptian scribe declared. Typography naturally has a place in the Jan Michalski Foundation collections. On the shelves readers will find handsome books on the history of typography, monographs by designers of various fonts such as Adrian Frutiger, and serial publications from typography studios like L’Ours Blanc in Geneva or Koshkonong from the Marseilles publisher Eric Pesty. A number of essays help readers deepen their knowledge of the art of creating and employing type, a didactic approach that does not overlook experiments by artists and publishers. Thus, the Typography collection presents “several typefaces for your viewing pleasure,” like the Tabernacle books by Ron King or Helvetica by Victoria Bean. You can find these on display in the stacks.

Pesty                  Affiche Lenz

A.III / Calligraphy

This collection is part of a larger context than its name might suggest. Monographs devoted to calligraphers and the great literary texts they have illustrated with their own artwork stand side by side with more generalized books on the history of calligraphy in various cultures, on the more confidential art of graffiti, and on the art of lettering in the visual arts, as well as facsimile manuscripts (Franz Kafka, Witold Gombrowicz, Marcel Proust, and Arthur Rimbaud) that, to our mind, partake of this art of “beautiful writing.” Finally, artists who have been influenced by a writing system other than their own—as in the case of Fabienne Verdier with Chinese calligraphy—likewise display innovative approaches to this ever-changing traditional art.

Massoudy   sengai-meditating-frog-jpg   Verdier Sedes_Sapientiae_INK_01_R-copie-874x1100

A.IV / Literature and the graphic arts

Literature and the graphic arts have forever been inspiring and feeding into each other, and often have willingly joined forces. The point where these two forms converge is the leitmotif running through this collection, which mixes visual artists’ writings in an obviously literary vein (Paul Klee’s Journal, for example), texts on art by major writers (Aragon’s Matisse, to name one of many), literary texts illustrated with paintings and drawings, and monographs on the graphic-art work of writers like Henri Michaux. And in a series of exhibitions mounted by the Jan Milchalski Foundation, the collection also features visual artists who have made forays into the field of writing and literature such as Antonio Saura and Georg Baselitz.

Michaux malelade don-quichotte-antonio-saura

A.V / Literature and photography

This singular collection has been put together to offer a number of variations on the fruitful couple formed by literature and photography:

  • photography practiced by writers (Hervé Guibert, Jean-Loup Trassard, etc.)
  • photography as the trigger of a story (Aleksandar Hemon, Daniel Mendelsohn, etc.)
  • literature as a trigger for photography, i.e., photographs of a writer or places that bring one to mind (William Eggleston with Faulkner, Anne-Lise Broyer on Pierre Michon, etc.)
  • photography illustrating and feeding into literary writing (W.G. Sebald, Bertolt Brecht, etc.)
  • the photonovel, i.e., a writer and a photographer working together to create a story in common
  • essays or reflections of writers on photography (Roland Barthes, Jean-Christophe Bailly, etc.)

photolitt photolitt2  Russell4

A.VI / Literature, image & sound

If there is one tutelary spirit that could illustrate this collection, it would probably be the American composer John Cage, who was able to draw on other creative fields like literature and musical notation to forge a singular body of work. We see this kind of cross-pollination in the oeuvre of the English pianist Alfred Brendel, who was also a remarkable poet. In this collection readers will find books that come with CDs or DVDs, language experiments (Valère Novarina, Olivier Cadiot, Charles Pennequin, etc.), wild, hallucinatory readings (Ghérasim Luca, Christian Prigent, etc.), documentaries on writers (Antonin Artaud, James Ellroy, Franz Kafka, etc.), or recorded interviews with them, as well as their contribution to film (Jean Cocteau, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Guy Debord, Marguerite Duras, etc.). These films can be viewed by request in the library. For CDs, a listening station is available to the public on the library’s fourth floor.

4ème étage : collection Varia

 

_LFA5594

 

Intitulé Varia pour sa diversité et ses varia-tions sur l’écriture et la littérature, cet étage a ouvert au public le 20 janvier 2016 à l’occasion de l’exposition de Sylvain Maestraggi, Waldersbach. Ces nouvelles collections de la bibliothèque s’affirment à la fois comme le prolongement naturel des étages inférieurs – l’écriture et la littérature restant les point nodaux de l’ensemble – mais aussi comme son décentrage. Divisé en six collections, cet espace illustre l’objectif de la Fondation Jan Michalski qui est d’encourager et de manifester la création littéraire sous toutes ses formes.

 

A.I / Littérature expérimentale

Si les étages inférieurs donnent à voir des livres que nous pourrions qualifier de « traditionnels » quant à leurs formes ou la mise en forme de leurs textes, la collection ouvrant le quatrième étage de la bibliothèque s’attache à offrir une approche différente et « déconstruite » du livre et de la littérature. Ainsi le lecteur y trouvera-t-il des œuvres où l’écriture est moins utilisée à des fins narratives que plastiques comme dans la poésie concrète, visuelle, cinétique, spatiale ou dans les holopoèmes. Figurent également dans cette collection des ouvrages traitant de la représentation du livre ainsi que des romans et poésies où la forme se disloque, donnant une autre dimension à l’écriture, comme dans les Cantos d’Ezra Pound. Enfin, une sélection de livres d’artistes expérimentant sur l’objet livre et sur les œuvres littéraires elles-mêmes, dans un travail souvent physique, questionne et ouvre sur d’autres expériences de lecture.

Niikuni Kawa      Augusto do Campos  

   

A.II / Typographie

« Celui qui excellera dans la science de l’écriture brillera comme le soleil », disait le scribe égyptien. La typographie a naturellement sa place dans les collections de la Fondation Jan Michalski. Se trouvent en rayon des beaux livres sur l’histoire de la typographie, des monographies de créateurs de polices tel Adrian Frutiger, ainsi que les publications en série d’ateliers typographiques comme L’Ours Blanc à Genève ou Koshkonong de l’éditeur marseillais Eric Pesty. Des essais permettront au lecteur d’approfondir ses connaissances sur cet art de créer et d’utiliser les caractères d’imprimerie, approche didactique qui n’exclut pas les expérimentations d’artistes ou d’éditeurs. La collection Typographie offre ainsi « quelques fontes offertes à votre regard », à l’instar des œuvres Tabernacle de Ron King ou Helvetica de Victoria Bean exposées dans les rayonnages.

Pesty                  Affiche Lenz

 

A.III / Calligraphie

Cette collection s’inscrit dans un cadre plus large que son intitulé pourrait le suggérer. Aux monographies consacrées à des artistes calligraphes et aux grands textes de la littérature mondiale qu’ils illustrent de leurs œuvres, se joignent des ouvrages plus généraux sur l’histoire de la calligraphie dans les diverses cultures, sur l’art plus confidentiel du graffiti, sur celui du lettrage dans les arts plastiques, ainsi que des fac-similés de manuscrits (comme ceux de Franz Kafka, Witold Gombrowicz, Marcel Proust, Arthur Rimbaud) qui participent selon nous de cet art de la belle écriture. Des artistes ayant été influencés par une autre écriture que la leur – à l’image de Fabienne Verdier avec la calligraphie chinoise – donnent également à voir des approches novatrices de cet art traditionnel, jamais figé.

Massoudy   sengai-meditating-frog-jpg   Verdier Sedes_Sapientiae_INK_01_R-copie-874x1100

 

A.IV / Littérature et arts graphiques

Depuis toujours, la littérature et les arts graphiques se sont mutuellement inspirés, nourris, et se sont souvent volontairement associés. Ce lieu de convergence est le leitmotiv de cette collection qui mélange écrits d’artistes au caractère littéraire évident (le Journal de Paul Klee par exemple), textes de grands écrivains sur l’art (le Matisse d’Aragon, parmi tant d’autres), textes littéraires illustrés de peintures et dessins, monographies sur l’œuvre graphique d’écrivains comme Henri Michaux. La collection met aussi en avant, dans la ligne des expositions organisées par la Fondation Jan Michalski, des artistes faisant des incursions dans le domaine de l’écriture et de la littérature comme Antonio Saura ou Georg Baselitz.

Michaux malelade don-quichotte-antonio-saura

A.V / Littérature et photographie

Cette collection singulière a été constituée de manière à offrir diverses variations autour de ce couple foisonnant que forment la littérature et la photographie :

  • la photographie pratiquée par des écrivains (Hervé Guibert, Jean-Loup Trassard…)
  • la photographie comme déclencheur de récit (Aleksandar Hemon, Daniel Mendelsohn…)
  • la littérature comme déclencheur de photographie : photographies sur un écrivain ou sur des lieux les suggérant (William Eggleston avec Faulkner, Anne-Lise Broyer sur Pierre Michon…)
  • la photographie illustrant et nourrissant les écrits littéraires (W.G. Sebald, Bertolt Brecht…)
  • le roman-photo : un écrivain et un photographe s’associent pour créer un récit commun
  • les essais ou réflexions d’écrivains sur la photographie (Roland Barthes, Jean-Christophe Bailly…)

photolitt photolitt2  Russell4

 

A.VI / Littérature, image & son

Si une figure tutélaire devait illustrer cette collection, ce serait probablement celle du musicien américain John Cage qui a su s’appuyer sur d’autres champs de création comme la littérature ou l’écriture musicale pour créer une œuvre singulière. Ce type d’entrelacements, nous le retrouvons aussi chez le pianiste anglais Alfred Brendel, auteur remarquable de poésie. Le lecteur trouvera dans cette collection hétérogène des livres accompagnés de CD ou DVD, des expérimentations sur la langue (Valère Novarina, Olivier Cadiot, Charles Pennequin…), des lectures hallucinées (Ghérasim Luca, Christian Prigent…), des documentaires sur les écrivains (Antonin Artaud, James Ellroy, Franz Kafka), leurs entretiens enregistrés ainsi que leur apport au monde du cinéma (Jean Cocteau, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Guy Debord, Marguerite Duras). Ces films peuvent être visionnés sur demande à la bibliothèque. Pour les CD, une borne d’écoute est mise à la disposition du public au quatrième étage de la bibliothèque.