Criteria for the award

The Jan Michalski Foundation provides support for high quality projects related to literature in the broad sense of the term. These include projects contributing to literary promotion, publishing and research. Applications for support are made by non profit-making bodies, associations and foundations, well-known actors in cultural circles and, on an exceptional basis, individuals who show talent that is worthy of encouragement. In light of its international vocation, the Jan Michalski Foundation supports projects irrespective of their country of origin and their geographical scope.

 

PROJECTS SUPPORTED

•    Literary events : literature festivals, readings, debates, conferences…
•    Writing and literary translation workshops
•    Exhibitions devoted to literature and writers
•    Literary research
•    The publication of literary archives, re-editions of rare works that are out of print
•    Literary manifestos
•    Literature prizes
•    Assistance for publication

Individual projects are excluded (theses, grants, study trips, training …), as are profit-making, commercial and promotional projects.

EVALUATION OF PROJECTS 

Projects for which financial support is requested are evaluated by a committee chaired by Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, President of the Council of the Foundation, normally on a monthly basis. When examining applications, the committee reserves the right to request additional information and, if necessary, to meet those responsible for the project.

Applications have to be in conformity with the requirements established by the Jan Michalski Foundation (see Submit a project). They must include the documents that are indispensable for their evaluation, particularly in relation to the following criteria on which decisions are based :

•   Quality and coherence of the literary project
•   Literary dimension of the project, expected impact, value
•   Capacity to promote literature among the public
•   Professionalism and competence of those engaged in the project to ensure its implementation
•   Feasibility of the project in relation to the planned financing
•   Evidence of a need for financing

The decision on whether or not to grant support rests with the President of the committee, which remains free to make its decisions as it sees fit. The organizers of the project are informed of the decision in writing. There shall be no appeal or request for justification.

PAYMENT OF THE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE 

The financial assistance will be paid upon presentation of an invoice for the amount granted providing the electronic references of the bank for settlement. If the supported project should be abandoned for any reason, those responsible are under the obligation to inform the Jan Michalski Foundation as soon as possible.

JUSTIFICATION AND COMMUNICATION

The beneficiaries undertake to publish the logo of the Jan Michalski Foundation or to refer to it explicitly in any communication relating to the project, both written and multimedia. They shall also keep the Jan Michalski Foundation informed of the progress of the project and shall submit a report thereon.

The Jan Michalski Foundation reserves the right to refer to the project on its Internet site and to cover it in its electronic newsletter.

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Critères et processus d’attribution

La Fondation Jan Michalski accorde son appui à des projets de qualité concernant la littérature au sens large – promotion, édition ou recherche. Les demandes de soutien peuvent émaner d’organismes, d’associations et de fondations à but non lucratif, d’acteurs reconnus des milieux culturels ou, exceptionnellement, de personnes privées révélant un talent digne d’encouragement. De vocation internationale, la Fondation Jan Michalski soutient des projets quels que soient leur pays d’origine ou leur couverture géographique.

 

TYPOLOGIE DES PROJETS SOUTENUS

•    Manifestations littéraires : festivals de littérature, lectures, débats, conférences…
•    Ateliers d’écriture, de traductions littéraires
•    Expositions consacrées à la littérature ou à des écrivains
•    Travaux de recherches littéraires
•    Edition d’archives littéraires, réédition d’œuvres rares épuisées
•    Manifestes en faveur de la littérature
•    Prix littéraires
•    Aide à la publication

Sont exclus les projets qui s’inscrivent dans une démarche individuelle (thèse, bourse, voyage d’études, formation…) ainsi que les projets à but lucratif, commercial ou promotionnel.

EVALUATION DES PROJETS

Les projets faisant l’objet d’une demande d’aide financière sont évalués par une commission présidée par Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, présidente du Conseil de Fondation, en principe à un rythme mensuel. Lors de l’examen des dossiers, la commission se réserve le droit de demander des informations complémentaires et, si besoin, de rencontrer les responsables du projet.

Les dossiers présentés doivent être conformes aux exigences requises par la Fondation Jan Michalski (voir Soumettre un projet). Ils doivent contenir les documents indispensables à leur évaluation, fonction notamment des critères de décision suivants :

•    Qualité et cohérence du projet littéraire
•    Dimension littéraire du projet, l’impact escompté, son utilité
•    Capacité à promouvoir la littérature auprès du public
•    Professionnalisme et compétences des porteurs du projet pour assurer sa réalisation
•    Faisabilité du projet conformément au plan de financement
•    Evidence d’un besoin de financement

La décision d’octroi ou de refus appartient à la présidente de la Commission qui reste libre de ses choix. Elle est communiquée par écrit aux organisateurs du projet. Aucun recours, ni demande de justification, ne sont admis.

VERSEMENT DE L’AIDE FINANCIÈRE

Le versement de l’aide octroyée sera effectué sur présentation d’une facture portant sur le montant accordé et stipulant les coordonnées bancaires électroniques pour son règlement. En cas d’abandon du projet soutenu quel qu’en soit le motif, les responsables sont tenus d’en informer la Fondation Jan Michalski dans les plus brefs délais.

JUSTIFICATIFS ET COMMUNICATION

Les bénéficiaires s’engagent à publier le logo de la Fondation Jan Michalski ou à faire mention explicite du nom lors de la communication déployée autour du projet, aussi bien sur les documents écrits que multimédias. En outre, ils informent la Fondation Jan Michalski sur l’avancement du projet et lui adressent un compte-rendu.

La Fondation Jan Michalski se réserve le droit de mentionner le projet soutenu sur son site internet et d’en parler dans le cadre de sa newsletter électronique.

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube