Lancement du Prix Jan Michalski de littérature

The Fondation Jan Michalski pour l’Ecriture et la Littérature is launching the first Jan Michalski Prize for Literature, to be awarded for a work of world literature. The originality of the Prize lies in its multicultural nature. It is intended to help talented writers gain international recognition. The winner will be selected by a prestigious Jury, composed of distinguished persons from diverse cultural horizons with an international reputation gained from various forms of literary expression. The Jury will be chaired by Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, President of the Jan Michalski Foundation.

The Jan Michalski Prize for Literature will be presented annually in recognition of a work of literature in one of the following categories : novel, short story, novella, literary reporting, drama, biography and autobiography, illustrated book and essays in the fields of philosophy, history, art history, politics and literary criticism, human and social sciences, life sciences. It is open to authors from the world over, whatever language they write in. According to Jury President Vera Michalski-Hoffmann: “Our ambition is to discover works of literature that seem to us extraordinary and to launch their authors onto the international stage.” The winner will receive a prize of CHF 50,000, enabling them to devote more time to their art, and will be invited to attend an official prizegiving ceremony in Switzerland in November 2010.

To constitute the Jury, the Jan Michalski Foundation approached multilingual writers with exceptional qualities, chosen for their knowledge of diverse literary genres, but above all for their broad cultural interests. They include Włodzimierz Bolecki, Nuruddin Farah, Georges Nivat, Jorge Semprun, Ilija Trojanow and Fabienne Verdier.

Method of selection

The Jury has nine members, including the President Vera Michalski-Hoffmann. Each proposes works of literature from their different languages and is committed to mounting a vigorous defence of their choices. The Jury, which is independent and voluntary, will meet for a first round of discussions. The preselected works are then translated into a common language for all the members to read. At a second session, the Jury will announce a short list to go forward for the final selection. The name of the winner will be announced at the third session of the Jury, following its final round of discussions.

Only published works will be considered for the Jan Michalski Prize for Literature. Entries must be presented either by Jury members, publishers, universities or cultural institutions and sent to the Jan Michalski Foundation for Writing and Literature by 1 March 2010.

The philanthropic work of the Fondation Jan Michalski pour l’Ecriture et la Littérature

The Fondation Jan Michalski pour l’Ecriture et la Littérature was created in 2004 in memory of Jan Michalski, in order to perpetuate his work in support of literary creation. Its purpose is to encourage the promotion of writing through a wide range of activities, including financial assistance, organizing literary events and also by hosting writers in residence, enabling them to devote themselves to their work. The Jan Michalski Prize for Literature will reinforce the impact of the Foundation’s activities. It is being launched on 27 October 2009 with a view to increasing the public recognition of future winners.

Calendar of the Jan Michalski Prize for Literature :

27 October 2009

Official launching of the first Jan Michalski Prize for Literature

1 March 2010

Closing date for submission of published works

November 2010

Meeting of the Jury and naming of the winner – Official award ceremony and launching of the second Jan Michalski Prize for Literature