Exhibition “Federico García Lorca en scène”

From 10 June to 24 September 2017

Born in 1898 in Fuente Vaqueros, in Andalusia, Federico García Lorca was a major poet. But beyond the poet, a number of other Lorcas exist. There was the artist-draftsman, the inspired musician, and the man of the theater, a playwright, actor, and director. Lorca’s body of work is stamped by many popular traditions as well as a visionary avant-gardism. It exceeds any simple chronological reading and offers a corpus as singular and contrasting as Blood Wedding and Play Without a Title, The House of Bernarda Alba and The Public, Yerma and When Five Years Pass, Gypsy Ballads and Poet in New York

A successful author from the start of his career, Lorca embodied a radical freedom that was provocative as well, probably without his wanting it to be. He defended with complete conviction and a deep love of the theater the idea that culture has the power to change society. Innovative and revolutionary, his theater transformed the stage into a free forum that gave rise to truths, emotions, and sentiments that thoroughly shook up the mindset in Spain in the 1930s. Assassinated by the fascists in August of 1936 at the start of the Spanish Civil War, Lorca figures among those fleeting lives, those shooting stars whose dazzling brilliance leaves a lasting impression. That bright light has allowed the poet’s words to reach us through a range of languages and cultures, touching us still with their miraculously contemporary resonance.

Five great themes run through Lorca’s work for the stage, i.e., love, the passionate quest for the other, and its corollary disenchantment; the solitude his characters irredeemably fall into; masks and the protection of hypocrisy; theater as a great metaphor for falsehood; and finally death, in its intense contrast with life.

The exhibition Federico García Lorca en scène – Frederico García Lorca on stage – explores these themes in Lorca’s writing for the theater and goes over the history of the plays’ successes and failures through a selection of archival materials, including manuscripts, first editions, posters, programs, drawings, costumes, sets, films and photos. These vestiges of a life made up of real voyages and inner journeys, suffused with poetry and overflowing with generosity, are an attempt to grasp the music, colors and sensibility of Lorca, to grasp the ungraspable: genius.


Curators Frederic Amat and Lluís Pasqual

In partnership with the Fundación Federico García Lorca


Show opening Friday 9 June at 6:30 pm


Dates 10 June – 24 September 2017

Opening hours Tuesday through Friday, from 2 pm to 6 pm ǀ Saturday and Sunday, from 9 am to 6 pm

Admission CHF 5.- (full price) ǀ CHF 3.- (students, groups, retirees, unemployed, disabled persons) ǀ free admission for children and young adults under 18 and residents of Montricher

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Exposition « Federico García Lorca en scène »

Du 10 juin au 24 septembre 2017

Federico García Lorca, né en 1898 à Fuente Vaqueros, en Andalousie, fut un grand poète. Et au-delà du poète se trouvent de nombreux autres Lorca : un dessinateur et un musicien inspiré ainsi qu’un brillant homme de théâtre, à la fois dramaturge, acteur et metteur en scène. Marquée tant de traditions populaires que d’un avant-gardisme visionnaire, son œuvre échappe à toute lecture chronologique et offre un corpus de textes aussi singuliers et contrastés que Noces de sang et Sans titre, La maison de Bernarda Alba et Le public, Yerma et Lorsque cinq ans seront passés, Romancero gitan et Poète à New York

Auteur à succès dès ses débuts, Federico García Lorca incarne une liberté radicale et, probablement sans le vouloir, provocatrice, défendant avec une absolue conviction et un profond amour du théâtre l’idée que la culture a le pouvoir de changer la société. Son théâtre, novateur et révolutionnaire, a transformé la scène en tribune libre, d’où ont surgi des vérités, des émotions et des sentiments qui bousculèrent les mentalités de l’Espagne des années 1930. Assassiné par les fascistes en août 1936, à l’aube de la Guerre civile espagnole, Lorca compte parmi ces vies fugaces, dont l’éblouissante explosion garde un éclat durable. Une lumière qui a permis aux mots du poète de traverser les langues et les cultures pour nous toucher encore aujourd’hui de leurs résonances miraculeusement contemporaines.

Cinq grands thèmes parcourent l’œuvre dramatique de Lorca : l’amour, quête éperdue de l’autre, et son corollaire le désamour ; la solitude dans laquelle glissent irrémédiablement ses personnages ; le masque, hypocrite protection ; le théâtre comme grande métaphore du mensonge ; et enfin la mort, dans son intense opposition avec la vie.

L’exposition Federico García Lorca en scène explore ces thèmes du théâtre lorquien et retrace la fortune des pièces à travers un choix d’archives – manuscrits, premières éditions, affiches, programmes, dessins, costumes, décors, films et photos. Ces traces d’une vie faite de voyages réels ou intérieurs, baignée de poésie et débordante de générosité, tentent de saisir la musique, les couleurs, la sensibilité de Lorca, de saisir l’insaisissable : le génie.


Commissariat Frederic Amat et Lluís Pasqual

En collaboration avec la Fundación Federico García Lorca


Vernissage Vendredi 9 juin à 18h30

Entrée libre


Ouverture de l’exposition

Du 10 juin au 24 septembre 2017

Mardi à vendredi, de 14 h à 18 h

Samedi et dimanche, de 9 h à 18 h

Entrée CHF 5.- (plein tarif) | CHF 3.- (étudiants, retraités, chômeurs, groupes, AI) | gratuit pour les moins de 18 ans et les habitants de Montricher

 

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube