Architecture and setting

Vera and Jan Michalski had been living in Montricher since 1983 when they had the idea of creating, alongside their publishing activities, a literary gathering place, a haven for lovers of the written word, in the peaceful surroundings they enjoyed at the foot of the Jura Mountains in Vaud. When the then mayor of Montricher Michel Desmeules informed the couple that the nearby Bois Désert summer camp, a property of the Catholic parish of Saint Joseph’s in Lausanne, was on the market, they announced their intention to buy the site. But it was only following Jan Michalski’s death in 2002 that Vera decided to create a foundation in his honor and install it at Bois Désert.

Boasting a large farmhouse and a chapel that were joined by a covered walkway, the summer camp had made a deep impression on many of the region’s inhabitants. The Lausanne parish had regularly hosted a camp at the site, and the children of the village of Montricher often spent the day there on school outings. Extensive games had been played on the playground’s covered terrace and baptisms celebrated in the charming little chapel. When Vera began thinking about renovating the site, Bois Désert had already been standing empty for several years. She was nevertheless attached to the memory of Bois Désert and initially considered restoring the existing buildings without carrying out major changes. Vera turned to the architects Vincent Mangeat and Pierre Wahlen, associates at a firm in Nyon, but it quickly became apparent that the buildings were in too great a state of disrepair to make appropriate use of them. The farmhouse and chapel were therefore torn down to make way for a more ambitious construction project, a new complex that would respect the original layout of the different buildings.

The architects initially drew up plans for a library to be built exactly were the farmhouse had stood and an auditorium in place of the chapel, which was to be laid out according to the traditional east-west alignment of religious architecture in the Christian faith. The auditorium would have an exhibition venue and a lobby. This was a response to the wish for a vibrant and dynamic site that was meant to serve a number of functions, including hosting exhibitions and events as varied as talks, readings, even stage performances. In a second phase, the overhead shelter was to be replaced to advantage by a broad openwork roof called the “canopy,” a reference to the tops of trees. The columns supporting this canopy are meant to give the impression of a forest of concrete trees taking over from the natural ones all around, plunging helter-skelter down the slopes of the Jura and ending their race in the middle of the Foundation.

Work began in 2009. The Swiss general contractor Losinger was put in charge of the project. The library, the building housing both the auditorium and the exhibition space, and the canopy connecting the two were completed in 2013. This vast complex made of light-colored concrete has a number of different pathways leading through it, heightening the overall appeal, while a plaza emerges at the center of the site, affording an exceptional view of the Alps and Lake Geneva. The library comprises five visible levels bordered by passageways and filled with oak bookshelves, along with two underground levels where books in transit are stored. The other building has an exhibition gallery on the ground floor and a basement auditorium, as well as the lobby and numerous technical rooms.

In 2014 the second phase of construction work began. After the so-called “anchor” buildings were put in place, attention then turned to constructing the “treehouses.” Onto Mangeat and Wahlen’s canopy, it was decided that other architects would graft various structures to complete the Foundation’s architectural program following its needs. Seven such cabins then exist for lodging writers in residence, while four others house the site’s administration and operational functions. Mangeat and Wahlen were awarded the design and construction of the Foundation’s offices, along with a conference room and a writer’s “treehouse.” Meanwhile, a design competition was opened to architects the world over for the remaining cabins, the idea being that a small settlement of “houses” in a range of different yet complementary styles would spring up around the plaza. The project specifications made it clear among other things that the architects had to work with the materials that were already employed on site, viz., concrete, wood, metal and glass. Each “writer’s treehouse” had to include a living space with a kitchenette, bathroom, and bedroom, as well as a module for working and writing. The cabins, moreover, had to be truly suspended from the canopy by a steel tie and secured to the ground using either a concrete base or stairs connected to such a base.

The following firms were eventually selected: the Swiss architectural firms Décosterd, Bonnet, AFGH (Andreas Fuhrimann and Gabrielle Hächler), and Schaub Zwicky Architekten; the Norwegian firm Rintala Eggertsson Architects; the Chilean firm Elemental (Alejandro Aravena); the Brazilian firm Studio MK27 (Marcio Kogan); and finally the Japanese firm Kengo Kuma and Associates.

This second phase of construction, which also includes landscaping around the buildings, has been completed in December 2017. The Jan Michalski Foundation as it appears today in Montricher is the outcome of imaginative work by a number of architects with a range of outlooks and styles, all in the service of a project designed to give books and writing an outstanding setting.

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Architecture et lieux

Une ancienne colonie de vacances

Résidant à Montricher depuis 1983, Vera et Jan Michalski avaient à l’esprit, en parallèle de leurs activités d’éditeurs, de créer un lieu de rencontres littéraires dans cet environnement paisible du pied du Jura vaudois. Lorsque Michel Desmeules, le Syndic de l’époque, les informe que la colonie de vacances du Bois Désert, alors propriété de la paroisse catholique Saint-Joseph de Lausanne, est à vendre, ils se portent acquéreurs du lieu. C’est après le décès de Jan Michalski, en 2002, que son épouse décide de créer une fondation en son hommage et de l’installer sur le site du Bois Désert.

Cette ancienne colonie de vacances, composée d’un grand bâtiment de ferme et d’une chapelle reliés par un passage couvert, a marqué le souvenir de nombreux habitants de la région. La paroisse de Lausanne y organisait des camps, les enfants du village de Montricher y allaient souvent en course d’école, le temps d’une journée, et de grandes parties de jeux s’organisaient sur la grande terrasse couverte du préau. Des baptêmes furent aussi célébrés dans sa charmante petite chapelle. Lorsque Vera Michalski envisage sa rénovation, le site du Bois Désert est déjà abandonné depuis plusieurs années. Attachée cependant à la mémoire de ce lieu, elle pense initialement réhabiliter les bâtiments existants, sans effectuer de grandes modifications, et fait appel aux architectes Vincent Mangeat et Pierre Wahlen, associés au sein d’une agence à Nyon. Il s’avère rapidement que les bâtiments sont en trop mauvais état pour en faire un usage pertinent ; la ferme et la chapelle seront donc démolies pour laisser se développer un projet plus ambitieux de construction d’un ensemble neuf, respectueux de l’implantation originale des différents corps de bâtiment.

Les bâtiments ancrés

Les architectes s’orientent, dans un premier temps, vers la réalisation d’une bibliothèque à l’emplacement exact de la ferme et d’un auditorium en lieu et place de la chapelle, sur un axe est-ouest comme sont toujours implantés les bâtiments religieux. Cet auditorium, complété d’une salle d’exposition et d’un foyer, répondant au souhait de faire du site un lieu vivant, tourné entre autres vers l’organisation d’expositions et d’événements aussi divers que des conférences, des lectures ou du théâtre. Le couvert sera, dans un second temps, avantageusement remplacé par un grand toit ajouré, nommé « canopée » en référence à la cime des arbres. Les piliers soutenant cette canopée devant donner le sentiment qu’une forêt d’arbres en béton, prenant la suite des arbres naturels, dévale les pentes du Jura pour terminer sa course au milieu de la Fondation.

Les travaux débutent en 2009 et sont confiés à l’entreprise générale de construction suisse Losinger. La bibliothèque, le bâtiment abritant l’auditorium et l’espace d’exposition, ainsi que la canopée qui les relie seront achevés en 2013. Ce vaste ensemble en béton clair est par ailleurs agrémenté de différents cheminements et un large parvis émerge au cœur du site pour offrir aux visiteurs une vue d’exception sur les Alpes et le lac Léman. La bibliothèque est composée de cinq niveaux visibles, bordés de coursives et bardés d’étagères toutes réalisées en chêne, auxquels s’ajoutent deux niveaux souterrains où sont stockés les livres en transit. L’autre édifice comprend, quant à lui, une salle d’exposition à l’étage et un auditorium en sous-sol ainsi que le foyer et de nombreux espaces techniques.

Les cabanes suspendues

En 2014, débute la seconde tranche des travaux. Après les bâtiments dits « ancrés », l’on s’attache à présent à la réalisation de « cabanes suspendues » : à la canopée imaginée par les architectes Mangeat et Wahlen, il est décidé que différents architectes viennent greffer des bâtiments pour compléter le programme de la Fondation, suivant ses besoins. Sept de ces cabanes ont en effet vocation à accueillir des écrivains en résidence ; les quatre autres regroupent les fonctions administratives et opérationnelles du site. La réalisation des bureaux de la fondation, d’une salle de réunion et d’une cabane d’écrivain est confiée à Mangeat et Wahlen. Parallèlement, un concours est organisé pour attribuer à d’autres architectes, venus du monde entier, les cabanes restantes afin qu’émerge autour du parvis une petite ville aux « maisons » de styles différents mais complémentaires. Dans le cahier des charges figure l’obligation de travailler avec les matériaux déjà employés sur le site, à savoir le béton, le bois, le métal et le verre. Chaque « cabane d’écrivain » comprenant d’une part un espace à vivre formé d’une kitchenette, d’une salle de bain et d’une chambre, et d’autre part un module pour écrire et travailler. Les cabanes étant, par ailleurs, réellement suspendues à la canopée par des tirants en acier et arrimées au sol à l’aide de socles en béton ou d’escaliers reliés aux socles.

Ainsi, sont désignés les bureaux d’architecture suisses Décosterd, Bonnet, AFGH (Andreas Fuhrimann et Gabrielle Hächler) et Schaub Zwicky Architekten, le cabinet norvégien Rintala Eggertsson Architects, le bureau chilien Elemental (Alejandro Aravena), le bureau brésilien Studio MK27 (Marcio Kogan), et l’agence japonaise Kengo Kuma and Associates.

Cette seconde phase de travaux qui comprend également les aménagements extérieurs sera terminée dans le courant de l’année 2017. La Fondation Jan Michalski telle que l’on peut la découvrir aujourd’hui à Montricher est donc le fruit du travail de nombreux architectes aux sensibilités diverses mais tous au service d’un projet consistant à donner au livre et à l’écrit un écrin de choix.