Press Release Exhibition « Jacques Prévert | Images »

17 February – 30 April 2017

Montricher, 9 February 2017

The French lyricist, poet, and author of plays, scripts and movie dialogue Jacques Prévert (1900-1977) is mostly known today for his writings. Part of the Surrealists’ circle in his youth, this fiercely independent yet politically committed man would maintain throughout his life strong ties with a number of friends who were prominent 20th-century artists, and develop an extensive and wonderfully varied body of work that is shot through with humor, fantasy, and a complete disregard for conformity.

Starting in the mid-1940s, with the encouragement of Joan Miró and Pablo Picasso, Prévert became an enthusiastic practitioner of collage. He would hunt for his images at flea markets and the booksellers along the Seine. His favorite sources included old engravings, anatomical and botanical plates, chromolithographs, popular or devotional images, reproductions of paintings by grand masters, postcards, pages from magazines, and photographs by his friends Brassaï, Doisneau, Izis and Villers. From this raw material, he would compose new images, playing with unexpected juxtapositions that transform platitudes and commonplaces, redirect and reappropriate expected meanings, and disorient viewers…

The papers of the poet and scriptwriter confirm this urge to produce images. Written out on large sheets of checkered Bristol board, his scripts are a token of a creative process in which drawing plays a significant part. His daybooks, made up of loose sheets in the same format and on which he would write out the day of the week, the only chronological point of reference to be found, also show that he made drawing a daily habit. His main motif was brightly colored flowers.

Collages, daily jottings and doodles, movie script pages teeming with illustrations, the exhibition Jacques Prévert ǀ Images features a collection of works and archival materials in which this prolific wordsmith proves a prodigious maker of images.

 

In partnership with Fatras/Succession Jacques Prévert

Curated by Eugénie Bachelot Prévert, with Solange Piatek


Information

Show opening 16 February at 6:30 pm

Dates 17 February – 30 April 2017

Opening hours Tuesday through Sunday, 2 pm to 6 pm

Admission CHF 5.- (adults) ǀ CHF 3.- (students, groups, retirees, unemployed, AI) ǀ Free admission for children under 18 and inhabitants of Montricher

Public areas of the Jan Michalski Foundation are accessible to persons with reduced mobility.

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Communiqué de presse Exposition « Jacques Prévert | Images »

Communiqué de presse

Montricher, le 9 février 2017

Auteur de pièces de théâtre, de scénarios et de dialogues de films, parolier et poète français, Jacques Prévert (1900-1977) est principalement connu aujourd’hui pour ses écrits. Fréquentant dans sa jeunesse le groupe des surréalistes, cet homme libre et engagé va entretenir tout au long de son parcours de profonds liens d’amitié avec des artistes marquants du XXe siècle, et développer une œuvre aussi foisonnante qu’hétéroclite, empreinte d’humour, de fantaisie et d’un non-conformisme absolu.

Dès le milieu des années 1940, encouragé par Joan Miró et Pablo Picasso, Jacques Prévert se passionne pour la pratique du collage. Il chine ses images aux Puces comme chez les bouquinistes des quais de Seine : gravures anciennes, planches anatomiques et botaniques, chromolithographies, images pieuses ou populaires, reproductions de peintures de maîtres, cartes postales, pages de magazines et photographies de ses amis Brassaï, Doisneau, Izis ou Villers, constituent ses sources privilégiées. A partir de cette matière première, il compose de nouvelles images, jeux de rencontres inopinées qui métamorphosent les lieux communs, détournent le sens attendu, dépaysent…

Les archives du poète et homme de cinéma confirment cette nécessité de produire des images. Ses planches de scénarios, réalisées sur de grandes feuilles de bristol à petits carreaux, sont la trace d’un processus créatif dans lequel le dessin occupe une place importante. Son agenda, composé de feuilles volantes de même format, sur lesquelles Prévert inscrit comme seul repère temporel le jour de la semaine, témoigne aussi d’une pratique quotidienne du dessin avec pour motif principal des fleurs aux couleurs éclatantes.

Collages, éphémérides et planches de scénarios illustrées, l’exposition Jacques Prévert ǀ Images réunit ainsi un ensemble d’œuvres et d’archives où le prolifique jongleur de mots se révèle extraordinaire faiseur d’images.


En collaboration avec Fatras/Succession Jacques Prévert

Commissariat Eugénie Bachelot Prévert, avec Solange Piatek

Exposition dans le cadre de l’anniversaire Jacques Prévert 2017


Informations pratiques

Vernissage public 16 février à 18 h 30

Dates du 17 février au 30 avril 2017

Horaires d’ouverture mardi à dimanche, de 14 h à 18 h

Entrée CHF 5.- (plein tarif) ǀ CHF 3.- (étudiants, groupes, retraités, chômeurs, AI) ǀ Gratuit pour les moins de 18 ans et les habitants de Montricher

Les espaces publics de la Fondation Jan Michalski sont accessibles aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

 

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube