Prix Jan Michalski 2013

Montricher, 13th November 2013 – the Jury awarded the 2013 Jan Michalski Literary Prize to the Iranian writer Mahmoud Dowlatabadi, for the powerful and taboo-breaking novel The Colonel. The story is narrated by an old soldier tormented by the loss of three of his children and by the death of his adulterous wife by his own hand.

He is unable to protect his two remaining children: his son, Amir, haunted by the atrocities of the regime of which he is by turn a victim and a witness, and a daughter, Parveneh, married to a cruel opportunistic man. Dark and atmospheric, told through the perspective of the Colonel’s memories, this novel spans Iranian history from the Second World War and shows the desperate lives led by many Iranians oppressed by successive regimes. Dowlatabadi’s work elevates rural speech, drawing on the rich, lyrical tradition of Persian poetry.

Born in 1940 in Sabzevar in the north-east of Iran, Mahmoud Dowlatabadi now lives in Teheran where he teaches Persian literature. He is the most prominent contemporary Iranian writer, author of many short stories, novels and plays. Missing Soluch and The Colonel are both published in English in the US by Melville House and in the UK by Haus Publishing. The Colonel is banned in Iran and has never been published in Persian.

Vera Michalski, the President of the Jury, awarded Mahmoud Dowlatabadi a prize of 50,000 Swiss francs as well as a work of art created by Philippe Cogny, especially for the price.

Two other exceptional works were chosen by the jury for the final shortlist:

L’Aigle et le Dragon – Demesure européenne et mondialisation au XVe siècle, by Serge Gruzinski, a French historian and essayist. Illuminating and original, this book deals with cultural exchanges in Latin America and the revolution in knowledge.

The Emperor of Lies by Steve Sem-Sandberg, a Swedish novelist. Chilling and captivating, this documenary novel reconstructs life in the Jewish ghetto in Lodz in Poland during the Second World War with great detail, skill and empathy.

The Jan Michalski Literary Prize is an annual prize awarded for the fourth consecutive year. Previous winners were: in 2012 Julia Lovell for her historical work, The Opium War, in 2011, Gyorgy Dragoman for The White King and, in 2010, Aleksandar Hemon for The Lazarus Man.

The prize is multicultural and intended to contribute to a wide recognition of the writers. The jury, international and independent, includes Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, President of the Jury and the Foundation, and publisher; ; Yannick Haenel, French writer and essayist, Isabel Hilton, British journalist, reporter, writer and editor of Chinadilogue.net; Marek Bienczyk, Polish novelist, essayist and writer; Georges Nivat, French Honorary Professor at the University of Geneva and a specialist of the Slavic world; Ilija Trojanow, Austrian editor and novelist; and Tarun Tejpal, Indian writer, publisher and journalist.

The prize is awarded by the Jan Michalski Foundation, based in Montricher Switzerland. It is open to authors of both fiction and non-fiction, from all over the world; each member of the jury nominates two works published within the last five years. The works are translated, if necessary, into a language accessible to each member of the jury. Books need to be published to be nominated and presented by the members of the Jury.

 

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Communiqué de presse Prix Jan Michalski 2013

Montricher, le 13 novembre 2013 – Le Jury attribue le Prix Jan Michalski de littérature 2013 à Mahmoud Dowlatabadi, auteur iranien, pour son roman poignant intitulé Le Colonel. Ce récit nous dit toute l’horreur vécue par un vieux militaire tourmenté par la perte de trois de ses cinq enfants, sacrifiés au nom de la Révolution iranienne, et le meurtre de sa femme qu’il a lui-même punie pour adultère.

De cette famille décimée, il ne reste guère que son fils Amir, hanté par les atrocités du régime dont il fut tour à tour témoin et victime, et sa fille Parveneh mariée à un homme cruel, l’un des bras armés de la répression. Dans un dialogue avec son fils, le Colonel se remémore les événements tragiques en Iran depuis la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et nous décrit l’atmosphère sombre et désespérée que mènent beaucoup d’Iraniens oppressés par les dérives idéologiques.

Né en 1940 à Sabzévâr dans le nord-est de l’Iran, Mahmoud Dowlatabadi vit à Téhéran où il enseigne la littérature persane. Il est l’un des plus grands écrivains contemporains d’Iran, auteur de nombreux récits, romans et pièces de théâtre dont un recueil de nouvelles Cinq histoires cruelles, premier ouvrage à être traduit en français. Interdit de publication en Iran, Le Colonel n’a jamais été édité dans sa langue originale.

La présidente du Jury, Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, remet à Mahmoud Dowlatabadi le prix doté de 50’000 francs suisses ainsi qu’une œuvre d’art réalisée par Philippe Cognée spécialement pour le Prix.

Le Jury a également distingué deux autres ouvrages exceptionnels dans la sélection finale :

Serge Gruzinski, historien et essayiste français, pour L’Aigle et le Dragon – Démesure européenne et mondialisation au XVe siècle ;

Le second finaliste est Steve Sem-Sandberg, auteur suédois, pour Les dépossédés. Ce roman se concentre sur le ghetto de Łódź en Pologne durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et pose les questions indispensables sur les circonstances tragiques de ces faits historiques.

Le Prix Jan Michalski de littérature est remis pour la quatrième année consécutive. Précédemment, il a été remporté par Julia Lovell pour son essai historique The Opium War en 2012, György Dragomán pour son roman Le roi blanc en 2011 et Aleksandar Hemon pour le roman Le projet Lazarus en 2010.

L’originalité du Prix Jan Michalski réside dans son aspect multiculturel. Il entend contribuer à la reconnaissance internationale d’écrivains. Le Jury international est constitué de Vera Michalski-Hoffmann, présidente, Marek Bieńczyk, romancier, essayiste et traducteur polonais, Yannick Haenel, écrivain et essayiste français, Isabel Hilton, journaliste, écrivain et éditrice de Chinadialogue.net, Georges Nivat, slaviste, essayiste et traducteur, professeur honoraire de l’Université de Genève, Ilija Trojanow, auteur et éditeur autrichien né en Bulgarie, et Tarun Tejpal, écrivain indien, éditeur et journaliste.

Indépendants et bénévoles, les membres du Jury proposent des ouvrages de fiction et de non fiction dans leurs diverses langues d’expression et s’engagent à les défendre. Les ouvrages présélectionnés sont traduits si nécessaire dans une langue compréhensible par chacun des membres. Seuls les livres publiés et présentés par les membres du Jury sont considérés pour l’attribution du Prix Jan Michalski de littérature.

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube