Edition 2016

Laureate 2016
Georgi Gospodinov

Georgi Gospodinov, The Physics of Sorrow, Open Letter Books, 2015

photo © Dafinka Stoilova

The jury of the 2016 Jan Michalski Prize for Literature has rewarded the Bulgarian author Georgi Gospodinov for his work The Physics of Sorrow: a labyrinth-novel, a world-novel, that explores the meanders of individual and collective memory in the search for humanity; a fantastic story chest that is inventive, profound, poetic and philosophical.

Georgi Gospodinov was born in 1968 in Yambol, Bulgaria. He is a novelist, short-story writer, poet, essayist and playwright; a leading author of Bulgarian literature and is amongst the most widely read contemporary authors of his country and the most translated abroad. His work has received many awards. While Lapidarium (1992), his first collection of poetry, was part of the post-communist literary revival, it was Natural Novel (1999) that by revitalising and reinventing the concept of the novel, engendered a strong following in Bulgaria and wide international recognition via its translation into more than twenty languages. The influence of Georgi Gospodinov’s prose was confirmed by his second novel The Physics of Sorrow (2011) that is this year’s winner of the Jan Michalski Prize for Literature: the first printing in its original language was sold out on the first day, and there are numerous translated editions.

The Physics of Sorrow stands out by it formal ingeniousness, providing a fragmented narrative made up of a multitude of stories and thoughts, echoes and leaps, of journeys in time and space but also in the Other, exploring what the human condition in a post-modern age can be, full of doubts and crises.

“I am us”, states the book’s prologue: at the heart of a choral production, the storyteller is multiple, gifted with such empathy that he has the ability to enter lives other than his own. In this way he is both a small boy and his adult self in communist and post-communist Bulgaria from 1968 to 2011, he is also his grandfather as a child in 1925 and his grandfather as a soldier in World War II, he is an animal, vegetable, cloud… he is also the Minotaur, his symbolic alter ego throughout this labyrinth novel.

In the meanders of individual and collective memory, Georgi Gospodinov follows a quest for identity which is also that of a country and of Europe as a whole, because sorrow spreads, sorrow migrates. “This is what I want to write about, this sensation of sorrow, the exhaustion of sense, which, on one hand, may be a painful feeling, but which, on the other hand, can also be a luminous feeling. A sad man is a man who thinks; a sad man is a man who contemplates. I think that when a sorrow is told it becomes more luminous.”

The writer therefore collects random memories, tells tales, myths and adds small personal and family stories to greater history; adds lists, images, schemas, citations and references, that play like the brilliantly orchestrated melody of an encyclopaedia. He relates the story to ward off its obliteration by time, to try to encompass a whole, to link his “self” to other “selves” and to cement empathy for shared humanity. His guiding threads, woven with humour, spirit and poetry, follow each other delightfully in a hymn to the powers of literature. The Physics of Sorrow opens a fascinating story chest bringing to life meanings for one’s self and others, for today and tomorrow, “something like an alternative energy source”, as Georgi Gospodinov hopes.


The winner of the Jan Michalski Prize 2016, Georgi Gospodinov will receive an award of CHF 50,000.00 and a work by the Bernese artist Markus Raetz that has been chosen for him: Binocular View, 2001, a photogravure in colour.


 

Finalists
Georgi Gospodinov

Physik der Schwermut. Roman

Literaturverlag Droschl, Graz, 2014

Physique de la mélancolie

Intervalles, 2015

Dzevad Karahasan

Der Trost des Nachthimmels

Roman in drei Teilen, aus dem Bosnischen von Katharina Wolf-Grießhaber, Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2016

Aatish Taseer

The Way Things Were

Pan Macmillan, London, 2015

Second selection of the Jury
Georgi Gospodinov

Physik der Schwermut. Roman

Literaturverlag Droschl, Graz, 2014

Physique de la mélancolie

Intervalles, 2015

Dzevad Karahasan

Der Trost des Nachthimmels

Roman in drei Teilen, aus dem Bosnischen von Katharina Wolf-Grießhaber, Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2016

Aatish Taseer

The Way Things Were

Pan Macmillan, London, 2015

Julian Barnes

Levels of Life

Jonathan Cape, London, 2013

Navid Kermani

Ungläubiges Staunen. Über das Christentum

C.H. Beck Verlag, München, 2015

First selection of the Jury
Georgi Gospodinov

Physik der Schwermut. Roman

Literaturverlag Droschl, Graz, 2014

Physique de la mélancolie

Intervalles, 2015

Dzevad Karahasan

Der Trost des Nachthimmels

Roman in drei Teilen, aus dem Bosnischen von Katharina Wolf-Grießhaber, Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2016

Aatish Taseer

The Way Things Were

Pan Macmillan, London, 2015

Julian Barnes

Levels of Life

Jonathan Cape, London, 2013

Navid Kermani

Ungläubiges Staunen. Über das Christentum

C.H. Beck Verlag, München, 2015

Víctor del Árbol

Toutes les vagues de l’océan

Actes Sud, Arles, 2015

Proposed by
Vera Michalski-Hoffmann

Andrea Bajani

La vita non è in ordine alfabetico

Einaudi, Torino, 2014

Proposed by Cees Nooteboom

Stefan Banz

Louis Michel Eilshemius, Peer of Poet-Painters

JRP / Ringier, Zürich, 2015

Proposed by Ugo Rondinone

Ulrike Guérot

Ulrike Guérot

Warum Europa eine Republik werden muss! Eine politische Utopie

Dietz Verlag, Berlin, 2016

Proposed by Robert Menasse

Patrick McGuinness

Patrick McGuinness

Poetry and Radical Politics in fin de siècle France, From Anarchism to Action française

Oxford University Press, 2015

Proposed by Charles Dantzig

Fariba Hachtroudi

Fariba Hachtroudi

The Man Who Snapped His Fingers

Europa Editions, New York, 2016

Proposed by Shashi Tharoor

Ada Limón

Ada Limón

Bright Dead Things. Poems

Milkweed Editions, Minneapolis, 2015

Proposed by Ugo Rondinone

Alberto Manguel

Curiosity

Yale University Press, 2015

Proposed by Charles Dantzig and Cees Nooteboom

Iván Sándor

Husar in der Hölle

Nischen Verlag, Wien, 2014

Proposed by Robert Menasse

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Edition 2016

Le Prix Jan Michalski de littérature 2016 est attribué à l’écrivain bulgare Guéorgui Gospodinov pour son ouvrage Physique de la mélancolie : un roman-labyrinthe, un roman-monde, qui explore les méandres de la mémoire individuelle et collective en quête d’humanité; une fantastique boîte à histoires, inventive et profonde, poétique et philosophique.

Lauréat 2016

Gospodinov_Physique de la mélancolie PhotoGospodinov_V©Dafinka Stoilova
Guéorgui Gospodinov, Physique de la mélancolie, Intervalles, 2015

photo © Dafinka Stoilova

Né en 1968 à Yambol en Bulgarie, à la fois romancier, nouvelliste, poète, essayiste et dramaturge, Guéorgui Gospodinov est un écrivain phare des lettres bulgares, comptant parmi les auteurs contemporains les plus lus dans son pays et les plus traduits à l’étranger. De nombreux prix ont récompensé son œuvre. Si son premier recueil de poèmes Lapidarium (1992) a marqué le renouveau littéraire de l’ère post-communiste, c’est Un roman naturel (1999, paru en français aux éditions Phébus en 2002) qui, redynamisant et réinventant la forme romanesque, lui valut un fort engouement en Bulgarie ainsi qu’une large reconnaissance internationale à travers des traductions en plus de vingt langues. Le rayonnement de la prose de Guéorgui Gospodinov est confirmé par son deuxième roman Physique de la mélancolie (2011, paru en français aux éditions Intervalles en 2015), qui reçoit cette année le Prix Jan Michalski de littérature : le premier tirage en langue originale a été épuisé en une journée, et les éditions traduites se font nombreuses.

Se distinguant par son inventivité formelle, Physique de la mélancolie offre un récit fragmenté fait d’une multitude d’histoires et de réflexions, d’échos et de bonds, de voyages dans le temps et l’espace mais également en l’Autre, explorant ce que peut être la condition d’homme à l’époque postmoderne, emplie de doutes et de crises.

« Je sommes nous », annonce le prologue de l’ouvrage : au cœur d’une construction chorale, le narrateur se démultiplie à l’envi, doué d’une empathie telle qu’il a la faculté de se glisser dans d’autres vies que la sienne. Il est ainsi à la fois lui petit garçon et lui adulte dans la Bulgarie communiste et postcommuniste de 1968 à 2011, il est aussi son grand-père enfant en 1925 et son grand-père soldat pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il est un animal, un végétal, un nuage… Il est encore le Minotaure, figure d’alter ego tout au long de ce roman-labyrinthe.

Dans les dédales de la mémoire individuelle et collective, Guéorgui Gospodinov poursuit une quête identitaire, qui est aussi celle d’un pays et de l’Europe toute entière, car la mélancolie se répand, la mélancolie migre. « C’est ça que j’ai envie de décrire, cette sensation de mélancolie, d’épuisement du sens, qui, d’un côté, peut-être une sensation pénible, mais qui, de l’autre, peut être aussi un sentiment lumineux. L’homme triste, c’est l’homme pensant, l’homme triste, c’est l’homme contemplant. Je pense que, lorsque l’on raconte une mélancolie, elle devient plus lumineuse. »

Alors l’écrivain raconte, collectionne des souvenirs épars, des contes, des mythes, emboîte des petites histoires personnelles et familiales dans la grande histoire, y additionne des listes, des images, des schémas, des citations, des références, sur un air d’encyclopédie brillamment orchestrée. Il raconte pour conjurer l’effacement du temps, pour tenter d’embrasser une totalité, pour relier son « moi » à d’autres « moi » et ériger l’empathie en ciment d’une humanité partagée. Ses fils d’Ariane, tissés d’humour, d’esprit et de poésie, se suivent avec délice dans un hymne aux pouvoirs de la littérature. Physique de la mélancolie ouvre une fascinante boîte à histoires, productrice de sens pour soi et pour tous, pour aujourd’hui et pour demain, « quelque chose comme une source alternative d’énergie », ainsi que l’espère Guéorgui Gospodinov.


Lauréat du Prix Jan Michalski 2016, Guéorgui Gospodinov reçoit une récompense de CHF 50’000.- ainsi qu’une œuvre de l’artiste bernois Markus Raetz choisie à son intention : Binocular View, 2001, photogravure en couleurs.


 

Finalistes

Gospodinov_Physique de la mélancolie Karahasan_Der Trost des Nachthimmels Taseer_The Way Things Were
Georgi Gospodinov

Physik der Schwermut. Roman

Literaturverlag Droschl, Graz, 2014

Physique de la mélancolie

Intervalles, 2015

 

Dzevad Karahasan

Der Trost des Nachthimmels

Roman in drei Teilen, aus dem Bosnischen von Katharina Wolf-Grießhaber, Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2016

 

Aatish Taseer

The Way Things Were

Pan Macmillan, London, 2015

 

Deuxième sélection du Jury

Barnes_quand-tout-est-deja-arrive,M137870 Gospodinov_Physique de la mélancolie Karahasan_Der Trost des Nachthimmels
Julian Barnes

Levels of Life

Jonathan Cape, London, 2013

Quand tout est déjà arrivé

Mercure de France, 2015

Georgi Gospodinov

Physik der Schwermut. Roman

Literaturverlag Droschl, Graz, 2014

Physique de la mélancolie

Intervalles, 2015

Dzevad Karahasan

Der Trost des Nachthimmels

Roman in drei Teilen, aus dem Bosnischen von Katharina Wolf-Grießhaber, Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2016

Kermani_Ungläubiges Staunen Taseer_The Way Things Were
Navid Kermani

Ungläubiges Staunen. Über das Christentum

C.H. Beck Verlag, München, 2015

Aatish Taseer

The Way Things Were

Pan Macmillan, London, 2015

 

Première sélection du Jury

Arbol_Toutes les vagues COP_Bajani_Vita.indd Banz_Louis Michel Eilshemius
Víctor del Árbol

Toutes les vagues de l’océan

Traduit de l’espagnol par Claude Bleton, Actes Sud, Arles, 2015

Proposé par
Vera Michalski-Hoffmann

Andrea Bajani

La vita non è in ordine alfabetico

Einaudi, Torino, 2014

Proposé par Cees Nooteboom

Stefan Banz

Louis Michel Eilshemius, Peer of Poet-Painters

JRP / Ringier, Zürich, 2015

Proposé par Ugo Rondinone

Barnes_Levels Guérot_Warum  Gospodinov_Physik der Schwermut
Julian Barnes

Levels of Life

Jonathan Cape, London, 2013

Proposé par Jacek Dehnel

Ulrike Guérot

Warum Europa eine Republik werden muss! Eine politische Utopie

Dietz Verlag, Berlin, 2016

Proposé par Robert Menasse

Georgi Gospodinov

Physik der Schwermut. Roman

Aus dem Bulgarischen von Alexander Sitzmann, Literaturverlag Droschl, Graz, 2014

Proposé par Ilma Rakusa

McGuinness_Poetry and Radical Politics Hachtroudi_The Man Who Snapped His Fingers Karahasan_Der Trost des Nachthimmels
Patrick McGuinness

Poetry and Radical Politics in fin de siècle France, From Anarchism to Action française

Oxford University Press, 2015

Proposé par Charles Dantzig

Fariba Hachtroudi

The Man Who Snapped His Fingers

Translated by Alison Anderson,

Europa Editions, New York, 2016

Proposé par Shashi Tharoor

Dzevad Karahasan

Der Trost des Nachthimmels

Roman in drei Teilen, aus dem Bosnischen von Katharina Wolf-Grießhaber, Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin, 2016

Proposé par
Vera Michalski-Hoffmann

Kermani_Ungläubiges Staunen Limón_Bright Dead Things Manguel_Curiosity
Navid Kermani

Ungläubiges Staunen. Über das Christentum

C.H. Beck Verlag, München, 2015

Proposé par Ilma Rakusa

Ada Limón

Bright Dead Things. Poems

Milkweed Editions, Minneapolis, 2015

Proposé par Ugo Rondinone

Alberto Manguel

Curiosity

Yale University Press, 2015

Proposé par Charles Dantzig et par Cees Nooteboom

Taseer_The Way Things Were Sándor_Husar in der Hölle
Aatish Taseer

The Way Things Were

Pan Macmillan, London, 2015

Proposé par Shashi Tharoor

Iván Sándor

Husar in der Hölle

Aus dem Ungarischen
von György Buda,

Nischen Verlag, Wien, 2014

Proposé par Robert Menasse