Writers in residence 2017

 

About writers in residence at the Jan Michalski Foundation during the year 2017…

 

Philip BOEHM, USA

Philip Boehm is the author of numerous translations from Polish and German. Based in St. Louis, he is also a playwright and theater director, and the founding Artistic Director of Upstream Theater. Original works include Mixtitlan, Return of the Bedbug, Alma en venta and Soul of a Clone.

For his translations he has received numerous grants and award including fellowships from the NEA and the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, as well as awards including the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translation Prize, the ALTA National Translation Award, the ATA Ungar Award, the PEN USA Translation Award, the Schlegel-Tieck Prize and the Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize.

 

Philip Boehm will devote his time as writer in residence to his translation of an Aleksander Fredro’s book Zemsta.

 

www.upstreamtheater.org

Photo © Sophie Kandaouroff


 

Nancy CAMPBELL, United Kingdom

Nancy Campbell is a poet, essayist and publisher of artist’s books. A graduate of Oxford University (BA Eng. Lit.). Her work responds to cultural and climate change in Arctic environments. Her books include How To Say ‘I Love You’ In Greenlandic: An Arctic Alphabet which won the Birgit Skiöld Award (2013) and Disko Bay (shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, 2016). Her research has benefited from residencies at institutions in the USA, Greenland and Iceland.

 

Nancy Campbell will devote her time as writer in residence to her translation of Songs from Ammassalik, Greenland.

 

 

http://nancycampbell.co.uk

Photo © D.R.


 

Caractères mobiles collective, Switzerland

Benjamin PECOUD, Mathias HOWALD & Catherine FAVRE

Chroniques de Montricher is the latest in the series of live writing events that the Caractères mobiles collective has held over the past two years. The aim is to introduce the practice of writing to order at live events to a given space – the village of Montricher. The collective will request commissions from the locals, creating a literary map of the area.

 

At the end of the period of residence, the texts will be handed over to their “owners” and published in an anthology.

 

http://www.caracteresmobiles.ch

Photo © D.R.


 

Pierre CENDORS, France / Ireland

Pierre Cendors, born in 1968 in the Alpine village of Ambilly, is half-French and half-Irish. His Irish background has bred in him a love for the elemental, dense, wild landscape that inhabits his poems and novels. His most recent works are Minuit en mon silence (Le tripode, 2017), Archives du vent (Le tripode, 2015), shortlisted for the Prix Wepler 2015 and currently in the running for the Prix Lettres Frontière 2016, and L’invisible dehors, carnet islandais d’un voyage intérieur (Isolato, 2015).

 

Pierre Cendors will devote his time as writer in residence to his project Chefs d’œuvre invisibles.

 

http://endsen.blogspot.fr/

Photo © D.R.


 

Kristen COSBY, USA

“As a girl, I had several lives. I lived aboard a sailboat, as an ex-pat in Budapest at the end of the Cold War, and on a dead farm in New Hampshire. This odd childhood left me prepared for three career paths: writer, pirate, or spy. Since I’m rather timid, I chose writer. My essays and stories have been published in several literary journals and anthologies. I am now attempting to complete my first book.»

 

Kristen Cosby will devote her time as writer in residence to her project The Thirty-Nine-Foot World.

 

 

 

 

http://www.kristencosby.com/

Photo © D.R.


 

Richard DE GRIJS, Netherland

Richard de Grijs obtained his PhD from the University of Groningen (Netherlands) in 1997 and held postdoctoral positions at the Universities of Virginia (USA) and Cambridge (UK) before being appointed to a permanent post at the University of Sheffield (UK) in 2003. He joined the Kavli Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics at Peking University in 2009 as a full professor. An experienced author, to date he has published more than 140 research articles and a scientific monograph (2011).

 

Richard de Grijs will devote his time as writer in residence to his project Longitude at Sea : Navigation in the 17th Century.

 

http://science-skills.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Maximilian GILLESSEN, Germany

Maximilian Gillessen, born in 1988, studied philosophy at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris and the Freie Universität in Berlin, graduating with a Master’s degree. In 2014, he co-founded the publishers zero sharp with the typographer Anton Stuckardt. Since then, Maximilian Gillessen has devoted his time to translating French authors such as Raymond Roussel, Jean-Pierre Brisset and Gaston de Pawlowski. He is currently translating works by René Daumal and René Crevel.

 

Maximilian Gillessen will devote his time as writer in residence to his translation of a Michel Carrouges’s book Les Machines célibataires.

 

 

 

http://www.zerosharp.org

Photo © D.R.


 

Julie IROMUANYA, USA

Julie Iromuanya is the author of Mr. and Mrs. Doctor (Coffee House Press), a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction, and the National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize for Debut Fiction. She was the Herbert W. Martin Fellow in Creative Writing at the University of Dayton and earned her B.A. at the University of Central Florida and her M.A. and Ph.D. at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She teaches at the University of Arizona.

 

Julie Iromuanya will devote her time as writer in residence to her project A Season of Light.

 

 

 

 

https://julieiromuanya.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Taran KHAN, India

Taran Khan is a journalist and non-fiction writer based in Mumbai. She grew up in Aligarh,(India) and was educated in Delhi and London. She writes on gender, Islam, popular culture and cinema. From 2006 she traveled frequently to Kabul, where she worked closely with Afghan filmmakers and journalists. Her work has been supported by the MacDowell Colony and the Pro Helvetia Swiss Arts Council.

 

Taran Khan will devote her time as writer in residence to her project Walk in Kabul.

 

 

 

 

http://www.porterfolio.net/taran

Photo © D.R.


 

Marc LATHUILLIÈRE, France

Paris-based multimedia artist and frequent traveler Marc Lathuillière misuses photography to explore the representation of contemporary societies, both in their roots and their mutations. Political and anthropological, his work aims at deconstructing cultural boundaries and the stereotypes they create. Often influenced by literature, his approach also involves art curation and writing. In 2012, Ithaca, a program of four solo exhibitions in La Rochelle, was conceived in reference to Homer and James Joyce. In 2014, Musée national, his 10 years series on France, was published with a foreword by Michel Houellebecq, while he curated the writer’s first solo show in Paris Month of Photography. He is currently working on an exhibition with anthropologist Marc Augé in Marseille.

 

Marc Lathuillière will devote her time as writer in residence to his project Territorisme.

 

http://www.lathuilliere.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Amanda LEE KOE, Singapore

Amanda Lee Koe is the fiction editor of Esquire Singapore, and a 2013 Honorary Fellow of the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa. Born in Singapore and based in New York, her first short story collection Ministry of Moral Panic won the Singapore Literature Prize and was for shortlisted for Haus der Kulturen der Welt’s Internationaler Literaturpreis. 

 

Amanda Lee Koe will devote her time as writer in residence to her debut novel, a project about performance and time.

http://www.amandaleekoe.com/

Photo © D.R.


 

Perrine LE QUERREC, France

Perrine Le Querrec was born in 1968 in Paris, where she lives, works, and writes.

She also writes in lighthouses, on floors, in brothels, and in psychiatric hospitals. She writes in jolts, tracing out her own language in pursuit of reticent words. She publishes poetry, novels, and pamphlets and studies the world’s archives as a guide to shaping her own life.

 

Perrine Le Querrec will devote her time as writer in residence to her project La construction.

 

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Tess LEWIS, USA

Born in 1964, Tess Lewis is a writer and translator from French and German. She has been awarded grants from PEN and the NEA, the Austrian Cultural Forum Translation Prize, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. She is an advisory editor for The Hudson Review and writes essays on European Literature for a number of journals including The Hudson Review, World Literature Today, The American Scholar, and Bookforum. In 2014 and ‘15, she curated Festival Neue Literature, New York’s premiere festival of German literature.

 

Tess Lewis will devote her time as writer in residence to her translation of a Ludwig Hohl’s Book Die Notizen.

 

 

http://www.tesslewis.org

Photo © D.R.


 

Mikolaj LOZINSKI, Poland

Mikołaj Łoziński is a writer, photographer, and recipient of Kościelski Award 2007 and Paszporty Polityki Award in 2011. He was born in 1980 in Warsaw. He studied sociology and completed his MA degree at the Sorbonne University in Paris. He was employed as Polish-French translator for Arte Télévision. His debut novel Reisefieber was released in 2006. His second novel The Book was published in 2011. Reisefieber and The Book were translated into several European languages.

 

Mikolaj Lozinski will devote his time as writer in residence to his project The Stramer Family.

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Thor MAGNUSSON, Iceland

Thor Magnusson is a lecturer in Music at the University of Sussex. His work focusses on the impact digital technologies have on musical creativity and practice, explored through software development, composition and performance. He is the co-founder of ixi audio, and has developed audio software, systems of generative music composition, written computer music tutorials and created two musical live coding environments. He writes about music and performs regularly around the world.

 

Thor Magnusson will devote his time as writer in residence to his project Sonic Writing.

 

http://www.ixi-audio.net/thor

Photo © D.R.


 

Christophe MANON, France

Born in Bordeaux in 1971, Christophe Manon now lives in Paris. He has published some twenty books including Univerciel (Nous, 2009), Testament, d’après François Villon (Léo Scheer, 2011), Cache-cache (Derrière la salle de bain, 2012), Extrêmes et lumineux (Verdier, 2015), the collectively authored En procès (Inculte, 2016), Le flot continu et imperceptible du temps… (Littérature mineure, 2016) and Au nord du futur (Nous, 2016). He regularly reads aloud from his work at literary events. He was awarded the Prix SGDL Révélation for 2015.

 

Christophe Manon will devote his time as writer in residence to his project Jours redoutables.

 

Photo © Ma. del Rayo Reyes Osorio


 

Philippe RAHMY, Switzerland / Egypt

Philippe Rahmy is a poet and writer, born in Geneva in 1965. He divides his time between Switzerland and Argentina. He studied Egyptology at the Ecole du Louvre and literature and philosophy at the University of Lausanne. He is a founder member of the literary creation and criticism website remue.net. His texts have been published in France, Switzerland, America, Italy, and China.

His two most recent publications are Béton armé (La Table ronde 2014, commended by the judging panel for the Prix Wepler and awarded the Prix Michel Dentan) and Allegra (La Table ronde 2016, awarded the Prix Rambert).

 

Philippe Rahmy will devote his time as writer in residence to his project Pardon pour l’Amérique.

 

 

www.rahmyfiction.net

Photo © D.R.


 

Dan RICHARDS, Wales

Dan Richards was born in Wales in 1982 and grew up in Bristol. He has a BA in English Lit & Philosophy from The University of East Anglia & an MA from Norwich Arts School. He is co-author of Holloway with Robert Macfarlane & Stanley Donwood (Faber 2013), The Beechwood Airship interviews, a book about the art & creative process (HarperCollins 2015), and Climbing Days, an exploration of the writing & climbing lives of his great great aunt & uncle – Dorothy Pilley and I.A. Richards (Faber 2016).

 

Dan Richards will devote his time as writer in residence to his project Outpost.

 

 

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Tomasz ROZYCKI, Poland

Tomasz Rozycki (b. 1970) is a poet, critic, and translator who lives in the Silesian city of Opole, in southwestern Poland with his wife and two children and teaches French Language, Culture and Literature at the University of Opole. He is a member of the Jury of the Koscielski Prize (Switzerland) and le Prix du Jeune Ecrivain in France. 

 

 

Tomasz Rozycki will devote his time as writer in residence to his project Corners, The Guidebook.

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Thomas SANDOZ, Switzerland

The writer and epistemologist Thomas Sandoz (born in 1967), who holds a PhD in psychology, has published novels, essays, and academic works with Swiss and French publishers including Grasset, Le Seuil, and Presses Universitaires de France. Alongside his writing, he regularly takes part in cultural and literary outreach events and workshops and carries out expert assessments in the field. He has won a number of prizes, most notably the Prix Schiller for Même en terre (Grasset) in 2011.

 

Thomas Sandoz will devote his time as writer in residence to his project La Ballade des perdus.

 

http://www.ccdille.ch

Photo © D.R.


 

Aude SEIGNE, Switzerland

Aude Seigne, born in Geneva in 1985, studied French literature and Mesopotamian civilisations at the University of Geneva. Her published works include Chroniques de l’Occident nomade (Paulette then Zoé, 2011), which won the Prix Nicolas Bouvier at the Etonnants Voyageurs literary festival in Saint-Malo, France. In 2012 she was awarded a cultural grant by the Fondation Leenaards for her book, Les Neiges de Damas (Zoé, 2015).

 

Aude Seigne will devote her time as writer in residence to a technologic novel’s project.

http://www.audeseigne.com

Photo © Steeve Iuncker-Gomez


 

Tanya SHADRICK, United Kingdom

“As a writer and former hospice life-story scribe, I work in public spaces to encourage creative responses to our lives and times. As 2016/17 writer-in-residence for Pells Pool in Sussex – the UK’s oldest lido – I’m writing a mile of longhand on pool-length scrolls. My quiet, kneeling presence beside so much physical endeavour invites pool-goers to think about the tone and discipline required for a similarly well-regulated inner life: work that has resonated far beyond the pool itself.”

 

Tanya Shadrick will devote her time as writer in residence to her project A wild patience: Laps in Longhand.

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://tanyashadrick.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Laura VAZQUEZ, France

Laura Vazquez was born in 1986 and lives in Marseilles. In 2014 she was awarded the Prix de la Vocation for her book La main de la main, forthcoming from Cheyne.
Her texts, À chaque fois, and Le système naturel et simplifié, and Menace are published by Derrière la salle de bains ; her book Oui. at Plaine page. Les fils, written with Simon Allonneau, was just published by Bêta publishing.
She is co-editor of the journal Muscle.

She is also a performance poet, having read her work at a number of sites and festivals, she regularly publishes videos of these performances on the internet.
Her texts are translated into Chinese, Italian, English, Portuguese, Spanish, Norwegian, Dutch and German.

Laura Vazquez will devote her time as writer in residence to her project Remonter la pierre.

 

 

http://www.lauralisavazquez.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Takashi WAKAMATSU, Brazil

Takashi Wakamatsu is a farmer and writer, born in 1976 in São José dos Campos, in the state of São Paulo in Brazil, to Brazilian and Japanese parents. He left school at seventeen to work in Japan for eighteen months. On his return home, he travelled widely before settling in the Amazon region. He has lived there for seven years now, dividing his time between farming, reading, and writing.

 

Takashi Wakamatsu will devote his residency to a translation of Jean-Pierre Brisset, Les origines humaines.

 

Photo © ATLAS


 

Antonio XERXENESKY, Brazil

Antônio Xerxenesky (1984) is a Brazilian fiction writer and translator. Considered by the british Granta magazine one of the twenty best young Brazilian novelists, Xerxenesky is the author of two novels, most recently F (2014), whose movie rights have been sold to RT Features. The novel was translated into French by Asphalte Editions and was nominated for the prestigious Prix Médicis. Xerxenesky has also published two short story collections and many essays on literature and cinema. As a translator from English and Spanish to Portuguese, Xerxenesky has translated important authors such as Enrique Vila-Matas and Adolfo Bioy Casares. He is currently working on a PhD thesis at Universidade de São Paulo (USP). 

 

Antonio Xerxenesky will devote his time as writer in residence to his project O mundo para nos.

 

Photo © Rafael Roncato


 

Aisha ZIA, United Kingdom

Aisha Zia is an award-winning playwright based in London. Her first produced play Our Glass House was awarded a Special Commendation from Amnesty International at the Edinburgh Fringe in 2013. No Guts, No Heart, No Glory, won The Scotsman Fringe First in 2014, was part of the Women of the World Festival at the Southbank Centre, screened on BBC4 and is published by Oberon Books. She has an MA in Creative Writing, and also works as a freelance photo editor for the Financial Times and New Statesman.

 

Aisha Zia will devote her time as writer in residence to her project Bhutto.

 

 

http://commonwealththeatre.co.uk

Photo © D.R.

 

  • Newsletter

    Subscribe to the newsletter by entering your e-mail
    * = required field
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube

Ecrivains en résidence 2017

 

A propos des écrivains en résidence à la Fondation Jan Michalski au cours de l’année 2017… 

 

Philip BOEHM, États-Unis

Philip Boehm est l’auteur de très nombreuses traductions au départ du polonais et de l’allemand. Demeurant à St. Louis, il est également dramaturge et directeur de théâtre. Il est le fondateur du Upstream Theater, dont il assume la direction artistique. Mixtitlan, Return of the Bedbug, Alma en venta et Soul of a Clone figurent parmi ses œuvres originales.

Ses traductions lui ont valu de nombreux prix et récompenses, notamment des bourses de l’agence fédérale américaine National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) et de la Fondation John-Simon Guggenheim ainsi que le Prix de la traduction Helen and Kurt Wolff, le Prix de la traduction ALTA National Translation Award, le Prix ATA Ungar Award, le Prix de la traduction PEN USA Translation Award, le Prix Schlegel-Tieck et le Prix Oxford-Weidenfeld.

 

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Philip Boehm travaillera sur la traduction et une adaptation de Zemsta de l’écrivain polonais Aleksander Fredro.

 

www.upstreamtheater.org

Photo © Sophie Kandaouroff


 

Nancy CAMPBELL, Royaume-Uni

Poète, essayiste et éditrice de livres d’artiste, Nancy Campbell est diplômée de l’Université d’Oxford (Licence en littérature anglaise). Ses œuvres font écho au bouleversement culturel et au changement climatique dans les régions arctiques. Parmi ses publications figurent How To Say I Love YouIn Greenlandic: An Arctic Alphabet, une œuvre récompensée par le Prix Birgit Skiöld Award (2013) et Disko Bay (en lice pour le Forward Prize for Best First Collection 2016). En résidence auprès de diverses institutions aux États-Unis, au Groenland et en Islande, Nancy Campbell a pu y mener les recherches indispensables à ses écrits.

 

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Nancy Campbell travaillera sur son projet de traduction des Chants d’Ammassalick.

 

http://nancycampbell.co.uk

Photo © D.R.


 

Collectif Caractères mobiles, Suisse

Benjamin PECOUD, Catherine FAVRE & Mathias HOWALD

Chroniques de Montricher étend la pratique du kiosque littéraire tel que le collectif Caractères mobiles l’expérimente depuis deux ans. Le collectif désire articuler l’écriture sur commande, propre au kiosque littéraire, à un territoire défini, le village de Montricher. En sollicitant les commandes des habitants, le projet propose une cartographie littéraire des lieux.

 

Au terme de la résidence, les textes sont restitués à leurs commanditaires et rassemblés pour publication.

 

http://www.caracteresmobiles.ch

Photo © D.R.


 

Pierre CENDORS, France / Irlande

Pierre Cendors est franco-irlandais, né en 1968 à Ambilly (Haute-Savoie). Son ascendance irlandaise le prédispose à ce paysage élémentaire, dense et sauvage, qui nourrit sa poésie et ses romans. Ses dernières parutions sont Minuit en mon silence (Le tripode, 2017), Archives du vent (Le tripode, 2015) Sélection finale Prix Wepler 2015, en lice pour le Prix Lettres Frontière 2016, et L’invisible dehors, carnet islandais d’un voyage intérieur (Isolato, 2015).

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Pierre Cendors travaillera sur son projet Chefs-d’œuvre invisibles.

 

http://endsen.blogspot.fr/

Photo © D.R.


 

Kristen COSBY, États-Unis

« Petite fille, j’ai vécu plusieurs vies. À bord d’un voilier, puis en tant qu’expatriée à Budapest à la fin de la Guerre Froide et dans une ancienne ferme du New Hampshire. Cette enfance hors du commun me prédisposait à trois destinées extraordinaires : écrivaine, pirate ou espionne. Étant plutôt timide, j’ai choisi la voie de l’écriture. Mes essais et mes récits ont été publiés dans diverses revues littéraires et anthologies. Aujourd’hui, je m’efforce d’achever mon premier livre. »

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Kristen Cosby travaillera sur son projet The Thirty-Nine-Foot World.

 

 

 

 

http://www.kristencosby.com/

Photo © D.R.


 

Richard DE GRIJS, Pays-Bas

Titulaire d’un doctorat de l’Université de Groningue (Pays-Bas) obtenu en 1997, Richard de Grijs occupe des fonctions postdoctorales au sein des universités de Virginie (États-Unis) et de Cambridge (Royaume-Uni) avant d’être nommé professeur ordinaire d’une chaire à l’Université de Sheffield (Royaume-Uni) en 2003. Il rejoint le Kavli Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics de l’Université de Pékin en 2009 en qualité de professeur titulaire. Auteur expérimenté, il a publié à ce jour plus de 140 articles de recherche ainsi qu’une monographie scientifique (2011).

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Richard de Grijs travaillera sur son projet Longitude at Sea : Navigation in the 17th Century.

 

http://science-skills.com

Photo © D.R.

 


 

Maximilian GILLESSEN, Allemagne

Maximilian Gillessen, né en 1988, a fait des études de philosophie à l’École Normale Supérieure de Paris (Ulm) et à la Freie Universität Berlin, dont il est diplômé et titulaire d’un master. En 2014, il a fondé la maison d’édition zero sharp avec le typographe Anton Stuckardt. Depuis, Maximilian Gillessen s’est consacré à la traduction d’auteurs français tels que Raymond Roussel, Jean-Pierre Brisset et Gaston de Pawlowski. Il prépare actuellement des traductions de René Daumal et de René Crevel.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Maximilian Gillessen travaillera sur la traduction des Machines célibataires de Michel Carrouges.

 

 

 

 

http://www.zerosharp.org

Photo © D.R.


 

Julie IROMUANYA, États-Unis

Auteur de Mr. and Mrs. Doctor (Coffee House Press), finaliste du PEN/Faulkner Award, Julie Iromuanya a remporté le Prix PEN/Robert W. Bingham for Debut Fiction et le National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize for Debut Fiction. Bénéficiaire de la bourse Herbert W. Martin en création littéraire de l’Université de Dayton, elle est titulaire d’une licence ès arts et lettres de l’Université de Floride centrale, d’une maîtrise en arts et lettres et d’un doctorat de l’Université du Nebraska-Lincoln. Aujourd’hui, Julie Iromuanya enseigne à l’Université d’Arizona.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Julie Iromunanya travaillera sur son projet A Season of Light.

 

 

 

 

https://julieiromuanya.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Taran KHAN, Inde

Journaliste et écrivaine essayiste demeurant à Mumbai, Taran Khan a grandi dans la ville indienne d’Aligarh et poursuivi ses études à Dehli et à Londres. Ses thèmes privilégiés sont la question des genres, l’Islam, la culture populaire et le cinéma. Depuis 2006, elle se rend régulièrement à Kaboul, où elle a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des réalisateurs et des journalistes afghans. Son travail bénéficie du soutien de The MacDowell Colony ainsi que du Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Taran Khan travaillera sur son projet Walk in Kabul.

 

 

 

http://www.porterfolio.net/taran

Photo © D.R.


 

Marc LATHUILLIÈRE, France

Artiste et grand voyageur basé à Paris, Marc Lathuillière malmène la photographie pour explorer la représentation des sociétés contemporaines dans leur rapport racines/devenir. Politique et anthropologique, son travail vise à déjouer les frontières culturelles et les stéréotypes qu’elles génèrent. Dialoguant avec la littérature, cette approche est prolongée par une pratique du commissariat et de l’écriture critique. En 2012, Ithaque, parcours de quatre expositions solo à La Rochelle, a été ainsi conçu en écho à Homère et James Joyce. En 2014, la publication de Musée national, sa série de dix ans sur la France, s’est accompagnée d’un échange avec Michel Houellebecq passant par le texte et l’exposition. Il prépare actuellement une exposition à Marseille avec l’anthropologue Marc Augé.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Marc Lathuillière travaillera sur son projet Territorisme.

 

http://www.lathuilliere.com

Photo © D.R.

 


 

Amanda LEE KOE, Singapour

Editrice pour le magazine Esquire Singapore et membre honoraire 2013 de l’International Writing Program de l’Université de l’Iowa, Amanda Lee Koe est lauréate du Singapore Literature Prize pour son recueil de nouvelles Ministry of Moral Panic (nominé pour le Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award). Elle a également obtenu la Bourse PEN/Heim Translation. Cet ouvrage a été publié dans e-flux, Guernica, Asymptote, Manifesta Biennial’s Journal #18, et traduit en allemand

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Amanda Lee Koe travaillera sur un projet de roman. 

 

http://www.amandaleekoe.com/

Photo © D.R.


 

Perrine LE QUERREC, France

Perrine Le Querrec est née en 1968 à Paris où elle vit, travaille et écrit.

Écrit aussi dans les phares, sur les planchers, dans les maisons closes, les hôpitaux psychiatriques.

Écrit par chocs, trace une langue à la poursuite des mots réticents.

Elle publie de la poésie, des romans, des pamphlets, et étudie les archives du monde pour entreprendre sa vie.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Perrine Le Querrec travaillera sur son projet La construction.

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Tess LEWIS, États-Unis

Écrivaine et traductrice, née en 1964, Tess Lewis a été récompensée par les Prix PEN et NEA, le Prix de traduction du Forum culturel autrichien et une Bourse Guggenheim. Elle est rédactrice en chef adjointe pour The Hudson Review et rédige des essais sur la littérature européenne pour plusieurs revues, dont The Hudson Review, World Literature Today, The American Scholar et Bookforum. En 2014 et 2015, elle a été conservatrice du Festival Neue Literature, le premier festival consacré à la littérature allemande organisé à New York.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Tess Lewis travaillera sur la traduction des Notes de l’écrivain suisse Ludwig Hohl.

 

http://www.tesslewis.org

Photo © D.R.


 

Mikolaj LOZINSKI, Pologne

Écrivain et photographe, Mikołaj Łoziński est lauréat du Prix Kościelski 2007 et des Passeports de Polityka 2011. Né en 1980 à Varsovie, il étudie la sociologie et obtient une maîtrise à l’Université de la Sorbonne, à Paris. Il collabore ensuite avec Arte Télévision en tant que traducteur polonais-français. Son premier roman Reisefieber paraît en 2006 et le second, The Book, en 2011. Tous deux ont été traduits dans plusieurs langues européennes.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Mikolaj Lozinski travaillera sur son projet The Stramer Family.

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Thor MAGNUSSON, Islande

Maître de conférences en musicologie à l’Université du Sussex, Thor Magnusson s’intéresse à l’impact des technologies numériques sur la créativité et la pratique musicale, qu’il explore à travers le prisme du développement de logiciels, de la composition et de l’interprétation électroniques. Cofondateur d’ixi audio, il crée des programmes informatiques audio, des systèmes de composition musicale générative et des supports de cours de MAO. Thor Magnusson a également développé deux environnements de codage musical en temps réel. Auteur de nombreux ouvrages sur le thème de la musique, il se produit aussi régulièrement dans différentes régions du monde.

 

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Thor Magnusson travaillera sur son projet Sonic Writing.

 

http://www.ixi-audio.net/thor

Photo © D.R.


 

Christophe MANON, France

Né en 1971 à Bordeaux, Christophe Manon vit à Paris. Il a publié une vingtaine de livres parmi lesquels, Univerciel (Nous, 2009), Testament, d’après François Villon (Léo Scheer, 2011), Cache-cache (Derrière la salle de bain, 2012), Extrêmes et lumineux (Verdier, 2015), En procès, collectif, (Inculte, 2016), Le flot continu et imperceptible du temps… (Littérature mineure, 2016) et Au nord du futur (Nous, 2016). Il se produit régulièrement dans le cadre de lectures publiques. A reçu le Prix SGDL Révélation 2015.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Christophe Manon travaillera sur son projet Jours redoutables.

 

Photo © Ma. del Rayo Reyes Osorio


 

Philippe RAHMY, Suisse / Egypte

Philippe Rahmy est un poète et écrivain né à Genève en 1965. Il vit en Suisse et en Argentine. Il a suivi des études d’égyptologie à l’École du Louvre, puis de littérature et de philosophie à l’Université de Lausanne. Il est membre fondateur du site de création et de critique littéraires remue.net. Ses textes sont publiés en France, en Suisse, en Italie, en Chine et aux Etats-Unis.

Ses deux derniers livres sont Béton armé (La Table ronde, 2014, mention Prix Wepler/Prix Michel Dentan) et Allegra (La Table ronde, 2016, Prix Rambert).

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Philippe Rahmy travaillera sur son projet Pardon pour l’Amérique.

 

 

 

www.rahmyfiction.net

Photo © D.R.


 

Dan RICHARDS, Pays de Galles

Né au Pays de Galles en 1982, Dan Richards a grandi à Bristol. Il est titulaire d’une licence en littérature anglaise et philosophie de l’Université d’East Anglia ainsi que d’une maîtrise de la Norwich Arts School. Coauteur de Holloway avec Robert Macfarlane et Stanley Donwood (Faber, 2013), il a publié The Beechwood airship interviews, un ouvrage sur l’art et le processus créatif (HarperCollins, 2015) et Climbing Days, une exploration de la vie de son arrière-grand-tante Dorothy Pilley et de son arrière-grand-oncle I.A Richards, tous deux passionnés d’écriture et épris d’alpinisme (Faber, 2016).

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Dan Richards travaillera sur son projet Outpost.

 

 

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Tomasz ROZYCKI, Pologne

Né en 1970, Tomasz Rozycki est poète, critique et traducteur. Avec sa femme et ses deux enfants, il vit à Opole en Silésie, une région au sud-ouest de la Pologne. Tomasz Rozycki est professeur de langue, culture et littérature françaises à l’Université d’Opole. Il est membre du Jury du Prix Kościelski (Suisse) et du Prix du Jeune Écrivain en France. 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Tomasz Rozycki travaillera sur son projet Corners, The Guidebook.

 

Photo © D.R.


 

Thomas SANDOZ, Suisse

Thomas Sandoz, né en 1967, écrivain, épistémologue et docteur en psychologie, a publié chez différents éditeurs en Suisse et en France – Grasset, Le Seuil, Presses universitaires de France – des romans, des essais et des monographies. Parallèlement à l’écriture, il travaille dans le domaine de la médiation culturelle et littéraire – animations, ateliers, expertises. Il a reçu plusieurs distinctions, notamment le Prix Schiller 2011 pour Même en terre (Grasset).

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Thomas Sandoz travaillera sur son projet La Ballade des perdus.

 

http://www.ccdille.ch

Photo © D.R.


 

Aude SEIGNE, Suisse

Née en 1985 à Genève, Aude Seigne a étudié la littérature française et les civilisations mésopotamiennes à l’Université de Genève. Elle a publié Chroniques de l’Occident nomade (Paulette puis Zoé, 2011), pour lequel elle a reçu le Prix Nicolas Bouvier au festival Etonnants Voyageurs de Saint-Malo. Elle a reçu en 2012 une des bourses culturelles de la Fondation Leenaards pour son deuxième ouvrage, Les Neiges de Damas (Zoé, 2015).

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Aude Seigne travaillera sur son projet travaillera sur son projet de roman technologique.

 

http://www.audeseigne.com

Photo © Steeve Iuncker-Gomez


 

Tanya SHADRICK, Royaume-Uni

« Aujourd’hui auteure et précédemment écrivaine de récits de vie au sein d’unités de soins palliatifs, j’affectionne les lieux publics lorsque jécris. Ils favorisent l’émergence de réponses créatives face à nos vies et à notre époque. Écrivaine en résidence 2016/17 à Pells Pool (Sussex), la plus ancienne piscine en plein air du Royaume-Uni, j’étire mon écriture sur des pages et des pages, tel un athlète enchaînant d’innombrables longueurs de bassin. Ma présence silencieuse, humble, dans un lieu dédié à l’effort physique invite les nageurs et les nageuses à la réflexion sur la force morale et la rigueur que nécessite une vie intérieure pareillement disciplinée : une démarche dont la résonance dépasse largement l’enceinte de la piscine. »

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Tanya Shadrick travaillera sur son projet A wild patience : Laps in Longhand.

 

 

 

https://tanyashadrick.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Laura VAZQUEZ, France

Laura Vazquez est née en 1986, elle vit à Marseille. Ses textes À chaque fois et Le système naturel et simplifié ont été publiés aux éditions Derrière la salle de bains. Elle est lauréate 2014 du Prix de la Vocation pour son livre La main de la main, à paraître aux éditions Cheyne. Elle a publié dans de nombreuses revues de poésie dont Doc(k)s, BoXon, Behind, Nioques, Les cahiers d’Adèle, Contre-Allées, Dissonances, etc. Elle co-dirige la revue Muscle.

Elle pratique la lecture poétique performée et a lu ses textes en divers lieux et festivals (Festival printemps pour l’art contemporain, Marseille ; Festival Familiar, Séville ; Festival Les cafés littéraires, Montélimar ; cipM ; Galerie des grands bains douches de la plaine, Marseille ; Galerie OU, Marseille ; La société des curiosités, Paris ; ENS, Paris, etc.)

Elle crée des pièces de poésie sonore avec la musicienne Clara de Asis, et leurs œuvres ont été diffusées sur France Musique et dans plusieurs musées en France, en Espagne, en Allemagne, au Brésil, aux USA, au Danemark et en Angleterre. Elle publie régulièrement des vidéos de lectures et des textes sur Internet.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Laura Vasquez travaillera sur son projet Remonter la pierre.

 

http://www.lauralisavazquez.com

Photo © D.R.


 

Takashi WAKAMATSU, Brésil

Takashi Wakamatsu est agriculteur et écrivain. Il est né en 1976 à São José dos Campos, dans la région de São Paulo. Mi-brésilien, mi-japonais, il arrête ses études à 17 ans pour partir travailler au Japon durant un an et demi. De retour au Brésil, il voyagera beaucoup, puis décidera de vivre en Amazonie. Depuis sept ans maintenant, il y partage son temps entre la terre, les livres et l’écriture.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Takashi Wakamatsu travaillera sur la traduction de Les origines humaines de Jean-Pierre Brisset.

 

Photo © ATLAS


 

Antonio XERXENESKY, Brésil

Né en 1984, Antonio Xerxenesky est un écrivain et traducteur brésilien. Considéré par le magazine britannique Granta comme un des vingt meilleurs jeunes écrivains brésiliens, il est l’auteur de deux romans, dont le dernier F paru en 2014. Le roman a été traduit en français par Asphalte Editions, a été nominé au Prix Médicis et les droits d’adaptation cinématographique ont été vendus à RT Features. Xerxenesky a traduit des auteurs importants de l’espagnol et de l’anglais en portugais, comme Enrique Vila-Matas et Adolfo Bioy Casares. Il travaille actuellement à une thèse de doctorat à l’Universidade de São Paulo (USP).

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Antonio Xerxenesky travaillera sur son projet O mundo para nos.

 

Photo © Rafael Roncato


 

Aisha ZIA, Royaume-Uni

Aisha Zia est une dramaturge primée demeurant à Londres. Sa première pièce produite, intitulée Our Glass House, a reçu le prix Amnesty International au Fringe d’Edimbourg de 2013. No Guts, No Heart, No Glory a remporté en 2014 le Fringe First décerné par The Scotsman. Cette œuvre a été présentée à l’occasion du Women of the World Festival au Southbank Centre, diffusé sur BBC4 et publié par Oberon Books. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts en création littéraire et travaille aussi comme éditrice photo free-lance pour le Financial Times et le New Statesman.

 

Dans le cadre de son séjour, Aisha Zia travaillera sur son projet d’écriture théâtrale Bhutto.

 

 

http://commonwealththeatre.co.uk

Photo © D.R.

 

  • Newsletter

    Abonnez-vous à la newsletter en saisissant votre adresse e-mail
    * = Champ requis
  • Facebook Twitter YouTube